Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I received a lot of compliments on this from my in-laws, they did say though it does go better with cool-whip or vanilla ice cream, but even just plain was fabulous. Will make this one again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was really good! I took others' advice and doubled the topping ingredients. I didn't have any problem with the cream cheese marbling with the pumpkin layer; I refrigerated the cream cheese for 30 minutes and then poured it into the pie crust and put it into the freezer for about 20 minutes. It got rave reviews from everyone who would try it (several non-pumpkin pies eaters around the tables who wouldn't try it) Their loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This pie was very good. Everyone loved it but me. However, I am not a pumpkin pie fan at all. So to say I liked this pie is a big deal. I will plan to mix the layers next time I make it and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the best recipe of all the Paradise Pumpkin Pies on this site. The only thing I do differently is add one full cup of chopped pecans to topping instead of the 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I really wanted to like this recipe, especially after all the rave reviews, but my first attempt wasn't a success. The three layers were each tasty on their own, but even though I placed the cream cheese mixture/pie shell in the freezer for 40 minutes, it rose to the top of the pie while cooking. It wasn't a marbleized effect, just messy looking. The pecan topping covered it nicely, though. I added .25t maple extract along w/ the vanilla for the cc layer and cinnamon to the topping as others suggested, and it was very good. I did have leftover pumpkin but I just made a smaller pie w/ it so no biggie (and I followed the Libby recipe--this one seems a little bland). I guess I just expected more of a "wow" factor for the extra work involved. Also, I think this is meant to be served after chilling to set it. I will try this again because the pictures look so impressive and as I say, the layers are tasty, but since mine blended together it was just too much going on taste-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellygrrrl
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Excellent recipe. I didn't have any problems with excess pumpkin mixture - but I did use a 10" shell. Also - I opted for a graham cracker crumb rather then pastry shell. It was a much nicer compliment to the cheesecake layer I think. This is a great pie to bring to holiday gatherings - and easily satisfies many cravings for cheesecake, pumpkin and pecan pies. Also - I did bake for about 30 minutes longer than the recipe called for - as it just didn't even come close to setting up in 50 minutes. That may be down to the fact I used a larger shell. Either way - took 1hr 20 min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I loved this pie and will make again! I followed earlier suggestions and made a double batch of the topping and added the 2 tablespoons of flour to the pumpkin mix. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin spice, just because I like the extra flavor. It came out well and everyone who tried it liked it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I really thought I would love this pie but that was not the case. It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was very good, like everyone says. I made no changes to the pie portion, but doubled the pecan topping part for more coverage (I used a big old pie pan.) Chilling the cheesecake layer for 30 min once it is in the pie shell worked great- no marbling. Baked up evenly, set perfectly. Really impressive pie that isn't actually difficult to make. Served w/bourbon whipped cream at a potluck- won best dessert! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I have never made cheesecake before and must admit that I was intimidated by this recipe. I was interested in making it for thanksgiving but baked a practice one and used my co-workers as guinea pigs :-) They loved it and I did too! Not too sweet at all...it was great. I did add a bit of pumpkin pie spice to the cheesecake layer just to tie the flavors together. I also don't like nuts in baked goods, so left out those and it was still wonderful. Since it was a practice run I used a store bought graham cracker pie shell, the 10 inch one. The pumpkin layer still didn't fit in, I had a bit left over, no worries. I did put the cheesecake layer in the shell and into the freezer for 45 mins and my layers did not swirl. I will be making this for thanksgiving...I can't wait to show it off to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States