Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and the family loved it so much they requested it at Christmas. The cooking time does need to be adjusted. My pie was in the oven about 25 minutes longer than the recommended cooking time. I also put the pie in the freezer for about 45 minutes before I poured in the pumpkin layer. I serve it with Pumpkin ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brande Mae
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
DELICIOUS! Made this for Thanksgiving and it was well received by everyone. I highly recommend that this pie is served as chilled as possible for best taste and texture. Also, Be careful with the layering because it's very easy to end up with more cheese than pumpkin if your pan is at all shallow. Other than that, the previous tips to chill the cheese portion and double the streusel are right on the money. Thanks for a great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brande Mae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This pie is WONDERFUL, it looked just like something that came out of a magazine, and tasted GREAT! i made it for Thanksgiving and it sure was a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
EVERYONE LOVED THIS! Somehow the pecans didn't cut it for everybody though - I made 2, one with and one without. Everyone agreed the filling was superb (and that's even with my authentic non cream cheese cheesecake made with ricotta & eggs sitting on the table)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I had a lot of problems with the struesel topping. I'm not sure if the butter should be softened at all. I normally make struesel by cutting up pieces of butter straight from the fridge, then mixing with my hands. Other than that, the pie was delicious! No burnt crusts, and not too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Really good pie. I would recommend adding a little more sugar to the cream cheese mixture, my husband said it was a little sour. I also doubled the pecan topping and that went over well with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very yummy, however I really couldn't taste the cream cheese over the pumpkin, so it was just like a normal pumpkin pie to me. However I did do as other reviewers recomended and once I put the cream cheese layer in, I popped it in the freezer. It created a BEAUTIFUL result. WARNING: This will make one VERY full pie dish, I ended up using making two pies out of this recipie and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
wow, this pie was GREAT. not too sweet, not too rich, just perfect. i had people who didn't like nuts or the usual pumpkin pie who loved this. i made a few adjustments....i added a little pumpkin pie spice to cheesecake layer, and also to pumpkin layer, and...wait, all three layers! As suggested, i added 2T flour to pumpkin layer, and I also doubled the pecan topping, but next time i will not double the flour in it, it didn't seem to "melt" as well when baked....but it still tasted fantastic. This recipe is now my favorite, and i can't wait to have an excuse to make it again! Oh, and there was alot of pumpkin filling left, even though i used a deep dish pan, so i used it and extra pie dough to make a small pumpkin tartlet on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
OMG!! This is a really great pie! We all were disappointed when this was gone! Just one tip though...regarding the struesel topping...make sure you have blended the butter through out the sugar mixture. That way it ALL melts and you dont have any sugar just standing there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I followed this recipe to the letter and it was awesome...no more plain ol' pumpkin pie for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States