Old-Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I agree with some other critics here. It's a great recipe to start from, but in my opinion it needs some small adjustments. I think, following this recipe, the batter is too thick, the amount of milk and flour should at least be equal. It can also use some more sugar. I also added a little bit of cinnamon and vanilla for the extra kick. With these adjustments you'll get perfect panpakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
WOW! This was an amazing recipe! The pancakes turned out great and SO fluffy! It was simple and absolutely great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I've been stuck on Bisquick for years-I really like it and they make a good pancake /baking mix, but I figured it was time to try it again from scratch.This is a good recipe-which I will tweek in the future. I got paranoid after reading the reviews,so I only used 2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teas. of salt. I also used organic baking powder,and have another can of "Aluminum free" baking powder in the cupboard. That was the first thing that hubby said,was that it had no metallic taste to them. So anyone that gave a bad review because of any chemical taste-I would say look to your ingrediants as being the culprit.I used 2 tablesp.of sugar.The next time I make them I will also up the bak. powder by another 1/2. I always make blueberry,simply because I have an orchard.I did add a teasp. of vanilla.I did sift it, and at 5 a.m. I had time to bring my milk/egg up to a bit room warmer before putting together.The only thing I found was they took quite a bit longer to cook than specified,maybe because I cut back the bak. powder.I always let the mixture rest for a bit also.I think people also have to slow down and read the recipe thoughout correctly before giving it a bad review. There is nothing wrong or hard about doing this recipe so I gave it the 5 stars. Now I'll go watch his video...thanks for a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Made it for my 8y/o and he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fitzroy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
So easy and delicious! Ok, I did reduce the baking powder to 2 teaspoons and omitted the salt altogether since I use salted butter. Mmmmm.... Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Yummy, following the directions exactly! Will never buy boxed pancake mix again! Superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I did this recipe just this minute, craving some 'diner style' pancakes and I have to admit, they were pretty tasty. For those complaining of the salt, be sure to sift the dry mixture a few times to evenly distribute everything. When the recipe says to sift, do it at least twice. Also, be sure you are using baking POWDER and not baking SODA(which is very salty). This is a common mistake(hence his reference during the video I guess)They were a little thick, but they cooked up nicely and we had them for dinner lol. I would try again, but maybe with a dash more milk and maybe a 1/2 tsp less baking powder. I liked them, though, overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha N
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
It came out waaay too SALTY. I had to use condensed milk with some water because I was out of milk but it came out really bad. I had to guess the milk amount because it wasn't specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Wonderful!!! Easy, quick, and absolutely the best tasting pancakes you can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States