Old Fashioned Ozarks Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is as good as the meat you use to make it. I used very lean ground sirloin and maple sausage. I served with an array of condiments including, sweet & sour, ketchup, and chili, Worcestershire, and BBQ sauces. Also, piled roasted veggies on the serving platter. All my non-onion eaters were very pleased with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is the best recipe with meat to egg ratio out there! Stands alone just fine and makes great sandwiches the next day. Since my family likes a bit more spice, and because Im always sneaking veggies into EVERY meal to confuse my picky eaters, I now add grated carrot and zuchinni to this base, as well as onion, celery or green pepper. You can even add radishes, grated turnips, etc. Whatever you have! Meatloaf was made to hide veggies inside! Just dice or grind them very fine. The Pork adds a bit of moisture and different texture and flavor which makes the loaf stand out with firmness, yet also moistness. A perfect texture. We love Garlic added, Greek Seasonings, even taco seasoning to create different variations o f this fine loaf! YUm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Thank you so much for proving that there are people out there that understand that food is good and does not have to be drowned out by onion, and other herbs and spices. Sausage is a great flavor enhancer for the beef in this recipe, (thank you pork fat.) And yes home-raised eggs and homemade bread makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is basically the same recipe Mom used when I was growing up,with a couple of changes. Mix chopped onion in with the Hamburger and sausage. You can also use the Lipton dried onion in the box. I used the Onion and Mushroom for added flavor. Add 1/4 C Ketchup and mix in 2 eggs. Add dried bread crumbs until your meat mixture starts to hold form. After you place in baking dish,take 1/3 cup ketchup and mix in 4 or 5 T of Brown Sugar. If you don't have brown,use White. Pour over top of Meatloaf and bake. I put foil over top until the last 15 minutes of baking. Believe me it is NOT too much ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Seems like a good recipe, sausage makes a nice moist loaf, but I would add 1/2 to 3/4 cup of chopped onion, a couple cloves of garlic chopped, some herbs, such as oregano and basil, for flavor. Mitch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Even in the OZarks we add onion and diced green pepper. You can add oatmeal to make a firm loaf if you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shell Knob, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Not much in it to add flavor. Also she says add 1/2 cup of ketchup to meat mixture, but doesn't say what to do with the 1/4 cup at the end of the ingredients list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is pretty basic and is leaving out some key ingredients. Add chopped onion or onion powder and a little bit of mustard. Also mix ketchup with equal part of brown sugar. Spread on top of meatloaf for the last 15 mins. of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States