Old-Fashioned Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
After reading the reviews and reading a few other onion recipes, I added a teaspoon of soy sauce and a few splashes of worchestershire sauce to the mix. This soup turned out "souperb"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
I think this recipie needs beef broth instead of chicken broth to give it a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
This onion soup lacked flavor. It was every bland and to much bread mixed in the soup. This one I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I love love love having dinner ready for me. My boyfriend said this was the best onion soup recipe I've made yet. I used Vidalia onions and cut the recipe in half. The only change I made was to use a really good beef broth instead of chicken. The soup was good as is, but of course I couldn't resist adding another slice of bread topped with cheese, baked on top. Excellent comfort food on what turned out to be a very difficult day for us both. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Yum. I didn't put in the bread (we served it on the side). I also needed much more liquid! Next time I'll either use small onions, or chop the rings in half as it was a bit messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It made for a great dinner to come home to after a long cold day. My husband really loved this soup! The only change I made was to add beef broth instead of chicken. This also freezes well. I froze the leftovers to use as lunch at work. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKOSTER1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This recipe was very easy. I added a little sherry and mixed chicken and beef broth. I also toasted my bread with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
This is the Best Onion soup we have ever had. Now when we have friends for dinner, they ask me to make this soup. It's the best, easiest and tastiest ever. Even the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
not much flavor, I don't think the chicken broth is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States