Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Finally, the perfect recipe for breaded, deep-fried foods! I did alter the recipe a bit by adding 1.5 tsp seasoned salt to the flour instead of sprinkling it on afterwards (I didn't add any extra salt), and I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. I dipped the onion pieces into the batter, tapped them off, and coated them in crackers. I also used the breading for zucchini rounds and mahi mahi fish! Everything came out EXCELLENT! We even had left overs, which we kept in the fridge overnight, and then baked in the oven at 450 until they started to singe a bit, and they were almost just as good as when we made them fresh. This recipe ROCKS, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My family and I just got through making these delicious onion rings. This is the recipe I have been searching for. I wouldn't change a thing. They are perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
The best recipe for homemade onion rings I have found yet! I much prefer a breaded onion ring as opposed to a battered one and the doubled coating worked great. These weren't greasy at all. A little more work but overall excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
They were wonderful and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These onion rings turned out very good! Not greasy and they so much better than frozen onion rings from the grocer. Have the battered rings ready to go because they fry up quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I made this with a few adjustments. I actually added several sprinkles of seasoned salt to the batter. I think that made it perfectly seasoned. I also put all of the onion into the batter (after dredging it with the flour) and then lifted the pieces out with a fork and put them into a bowl with the crumbs and tossed them to coat. It would have taken forever if I had done them individually and made for more dishes. We both loved it that way as having a little extra batter on that left us with lots of thicker bits of crispy batter after frying it...it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I can finally stuff myself with awsome yummy onion rings at home. I have tried for years to make onion rings at home and they always were a mess. I made these according to the recipe except I used 1-1/4C. panko bread crumbs and they were to die for! I would say I used 2 medium onions and still had batter and crumbs left in the bowl. YUMMMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
It was great,i did follow the advice of one the reviwers and put the rings in water wich made it easier for the banking powder and flour to stick,also i used crushed plain crackers instead of bread crumbs. thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Fantastic and easy to make. Our guests always love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This is very good - I will definitely use again! One part on the instructions though; when you cover in bread crumbs, I would recommend using a mixing bowl and fork to swirl around - it doesn't work very well to use a shallow platter/plate and try to press the crumbs on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 959) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States