Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My rings didn't come out fully coated after the frying, I think it was due to the dipping in the breadcrumbs. BUT they were still good the taste of the batter was great. Next time I will dip w/Out the breadcrumbs to see how they come out. All in all fantastic for my first try at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
DELICIOUS!, also really good made with french onion ring crumbs, i found them at the dollar general..and they were soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
WOW! These are amazing!! We made them as is and they were excellent! We also tried them with Panko bread crumbs instead and they were also great but the bread crumbs were a little too big so we ground them up in a food processor and these were the best, better than regular bread crumbs or non ground Panko ones. We also tried frying them and baking them. Frying of course tasted the best but baking was a great alternative if you want low fat. For those, I greased a baking sheet and baked them at 400 degrees for 20 min. They turned out light and crispy. Both the fried and baked onion rings were great left over. I just put them on a cookie sheet in the oven at 400 degrees until they were heated. They were just as crispy as the day they were made after being heated that way. To make the onion rings easier, I put the flour mixture in a large zip lock bag and tossed the onion rings around. I then took them out and added the egg and milk to the flour mixture in the bag, stirred it and then added the onions and mushed them around until coated. I then followed the rest of the directions from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
yum yum yum, the only thing I did different was cornflakes instead of bread crumbs, cuz that's all I had. Buttermilk instead of regular milk. Oh and adding garlic, onion, salt, pepper, & cayene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I added some garlic powder to the flour mix. I also used Panco instead of bread crumbs, I really think this made them ridiculously crunchy and yummy:) Everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Made for guests who all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
i wish i could give this more stars. this is the best way to crisp up any recipe that you need to bread. so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These onion rings are wonderful! I'm writing this while I'm eating them! My hubby just commented that they are perfect! Thank you for this recipe as I have tried many that failed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Jeanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
These were GREAT!! Due to lack of money to buy all ingredients as is, I had to make a few alterations, but I do believe I'm sticking to them! I used Gold Medal "better for bread" flour instead of all-purpose, I used evaporated milk instead of regular (whick comes in handy for french toast and other recipes when I'm out of milk, and it"s alot cheaper), instead of eggs I used about 4 tbs. Helmans mayonnaise with olive oil, and I used Italian bread crumbs instead of regular. I also added about 3/4 tsp. garlic powder to the flour mix. I usually use the pancake batter recipe for onion rings, but these are so much crispier and less greasy. I made these for me and my son when he got out of work, and we both agree that this ones a keeper!! THANKS TO THE SUBMITTER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I added corn meal to the bread crumbs. They turned out super crunchy. My boyfriend loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States