Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Jasmine Emily McClung
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
First time using this recipe and I followed it a T and they turned out great! Super easy and fast! Thank you! This might become a Christmas traditional lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The best ever. I made them ahead and froze them on a cookie sheet c. I could then take out as many as I wanted and cooked them in my fryer, so I always had some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Oh what light through yonder window breaks? It is my happy self after eating these perfect onion rings!! And i've never tried to make onion rings before. Are they messy to make? Yup...and you should expect that with ANY fried food. Are they worth five stars after 950+ reviews? Yup! I did the breading in three bowls for this...the dry, the wet, and Panko crumbs so I can sorta do this assembly-line fashion. My wet batter was about as thick as heavy pancake syrup, because I just like a lot of breading on my rings. To season the wet and dry breading parts, i threw in some pepper, some paprika, some onion flakes to both, and some freeze-dried garlic pieces to the wet part. I used a 5qt cast iron dutch oven with about an inch of peanut oil to fry these. It worked great although it was annoying regulating the stove temperature, but that's just how glassceramic stoves work as opposed to other kids of stove and not this recipe. Don't fry any more than two or three pieces or the temp doesn't regulate well. And just make these. Really, GO and make them. They are fabulous even without dipping sauce to go with them. Make them, eat them, love them, make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Definitely a lot of prep work, but well worth it. I heavily seasoned the flour ( Tony's, garlic powder) but it still could have used more. Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Came out great! I love thin crispy onion rings and this recipe gave me that. My boyfriend loves them and said they were way better than any onion ring you get at fast food or even sit down places. I do mix the crumbs and flour mixture all together to save time and mix onions in all together. Simple recipe but comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bryce Conkle
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Easy but takes a bit of your time. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryce Conkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Unbelievably good. I used Panko bread crumbs and they were crunchy goodness! Best homemade onion rings ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! I used panko for the breadcumbs. Served at a dinner party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hall Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fede86
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Placed all the dry ingredients in a zip lock bag, and tossed the onion rings in it. Added all the wet ingredients into a bowl and whisked them together. Added all the wet ingredients into the ziplock bag and mixed. In a separate plate added panko bread crumbs and placed the O rings in it one by one and set them aside in a cookie rack. Added a little extra pepper, paprika and salt. Came out great, perfect golden brown. Fried them 1 min on each side on med high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Loved these onion rings, so crunchy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States