Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Absolutely perfect, my husband fell in love with me all over again!! **UPDATE** I made these last night using Panko bread crumbs (which I pulsed in the food processor to make the crumbs super tiny), will never make any other way...not at all greasy with a fabulous crunch! FOR NO MESS - I put the flour mix into a big resealable bag, throw all my onion slices in and shake really well until they're all coated. Then take the onions out, add the milk/egg to the bag and stir well. Add the onions a handful at a time, seal bag and mush the bag until all slices are coated, take out with tongs and put on wire rack over foil or wax paper...then put my Panko breadcrumbs into a big tupperware bowl, add the onions a handful at a time (with tongs), put the lid on and shake shake shake. Put the onions from the bowl directly into the hot oil with clean tongs, woo-hoo no mess!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I chose to bake these instead of frying. I did drizzle a bit of olive oil onto the dish so they would get crispy and they turned out wonderful! I also added some tyme, basil and rosemary into the breadcrumbs. Not greasy and a lot of flavor! I also sprinkled with some parmesan/romano cheese hot out of the oven! Yum! Thanks for the recipe...will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
804 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Delicious! Crispy on the outside and tender inside. I used brown onions. I floured them with an extra seasoning of garlic powder, paprika, battered them and then placed them in a shallow container with lots of crumbs. To save time I just placed the lid on the container and shook vigorously. It coated them in crumbs very well, alot better than using your fingers as all the places the breadcrumbs fall off because of your fingers weren't a problem. I mean I just don't have the time to coat one by one and this method worked great. I put them in the fridge ready for dinner and still have lots left uncooked which I will fry up tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
438 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
These are the best. I read in a recent cooking publication to slide a skewer through the onion rings and hang them across a bowl to drip. It works perfectly. I lay a wire cooling rack across a baking dish and hold the cooked onion rings in a 225F oven, while frying the remaining rings. This keeps them crispy. I do not use any of the salt this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I made these for the guys at the fire hall. And I made a HUGE pile of them...not one was left! A very good recipe...a little messy, but it's esay to do and worth it! Some changes I made: I found the onion to batter ratio was a little short on batter so I doubled the flour mixture. It's always easier to throw out extra batter than not have enough. I also added the following to the batter: Garlic powder, dried parsley, a pinch of cayenne, black pepper, and some paprika. Add these according to your taste. I think you will like the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe! The flavor was good, texture was awesome! Thanks for the recipe! The only thing is that I ran out of the crumb stuff so, I would use more of that next time (might have been my super huge Walla Walla sweet onion though!). TIP: For any like me who don't have a fryer - just put oil in a deepish frying pan on medium high heat - preheat oil before frying. It worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
One of my all time favorite foods, and so much better than the typical battered rings. Breaded onion rings are so hard to find at restaurants now since there are so few old fashioned drive-ins left anymore. I will never have to lust after these again. A little putzy, but SO worth the effort! (Best, in my opinion, with a juicy cheeseburger and a thick chocolate malt!) Thanks for passing along the recipe for this nostalgic favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
With just a few tweeks this go from good to over the top grrreat. After slicing onions put into a shallow bowl and cover with buttermilk, let sit for hour in fridge. Add flour to a bowl with 1/4 cup of corn starch(forget the baking powder)this lighten up the gluten. Add 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/8 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic powder to flour. Pour off buttermilk and add if needed to make one cup, set aside. Dredge onion rings into flour and set on cookie rack, now add buttermilk to flour and 2 tablespoon of instant potatos. Let mixture sit for 10 mins, the potatos will thicken batter. Dip onion rings in batter and then into Panko bread crumbs not reg, this makes them so incredibly crunchy you won't believe it. Put onion rings on a cooling rack to dry for at least 10 mins. Drying keeps the batter/Panko on better when cooked and less greasy. Deep fry after oil has reached 350 degrees, flipping over after couple mins until golden brown. Salt right after they come out of oil. Do not salt batter as it makes the onions sweat and batter will fall off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
These onion rings turned out perfect. I used many of the tips that I found in these reviews. I used a gallon ziploc to shake the onion slices with the flour mixture. Next, I set wire racks over newspaper to put the rings after coating with the batter. I used a covered pan for the breadcrumbs and shook the batter coated rings in there before laying them out on a piece of newspaper. The fastest part was the actual frying - quick and easy in an electric skillet. Served with the Blooming Onion Sauce from this site, there are a couple..we used the recipe that has mayonnaise as a base, but cut down on the horseradish by 1/2. Perfect companion to these excellent onion rings. Enjoy! Edit - I made these again and they are still delicious. However, I got a new electric skillet and it didn't seem to get as hot as my old one so the onion rings took longer to cook. Next time I will do them on the stove. These are really excellent onion rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
These were real yummy. A good crispy onion ring. Left overs are excellent re-heated due to the crisp factor. I did add some garlic powder to the flour mixture and soaked the onions rings in water (this process of soaking takes the strong oniony flavor out of onions if that's what you prefer. The water coating also helped the flour mixture to adhere better). The only problem I had with this recipe was that after you coat the onion rings with flour mixture, it doesn't realy specify how much you flour mixture you are left with. I had to make more flour mixture in order to have enough when adding egg mixture (maybe this was the case due to my decision to soak in water. Overall these were realy GREAT and I'll def. make it again. Thanks Jeanharmon:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 925) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States