Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Roxy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I give it four stars not five stars because the first batch I made was a little bland. For the second batch, I sprinkled the raw onion rings with onion powder, garlic powder and salt. I then followed the recipe exactly from there. For a quick and easy dipping sauce, I mixed equal parts ketchup and mayo; perfect! Between my husband and my kids there wasn't a ring left. I used two ziploc bags to coat the rings so clean up was fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I actually made a mistake when mixing the batter up. I was just looking at the ingredients and so I mixed everything together! It was soooo thick, so I read the instructions and realized what I'd done wrong. Anyway, I just added about a cup more milk and made a batter that I coated the onion rings in before deep frying! Wow were they ever good! My kids were eating them faster then I could keep up! These are my favorite onion rings ever! I think I'll make the mixing mistake again because it made it so much easier for me. One less step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great basic recipe, Used panko in the food processor, seasoned with Cayenne pepper, Salt,smoked paprika . After slicing onions I soaked them in milk for a few hrs.(Could go overnight) Helps everything stick to the onion. 4.5 stars b4 changes, 5 star after Happy Eats :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
"This should be illegal!"--dear hubbie. We ate 'em all. Delicious. Best we have ever had--home or restaurant. Even great leftover cold out of the fridge. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made these tonight with my steak they were delish.... Plan on making them more often my kids even tried them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Awesome onion rings! I do want to figure out how to season the panko crumbs to get some more flavor in there. I bet this recipe would be awesome for fried zucchini too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
this is a brilliant recipe! followed the recipe to the very last bit and it turned out to be one of the best onion rings i've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were good but a little tricky to make without a deep fryer since I didn't have any way to know the temperature of the oil. The first one I had my stove set at 8 and it started to burn too fast so I turned it down to 4 and they didn't cook so probably around 6-7 is good. If you let the onions sit too long to drip then the bread crumbs do not stick so well and the whole breading starts to come off in the oil. I am sure it all takes practice to get it down right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Holy Cow these are good! We have a local restaurant that is famous for their onion rings and these a WAY better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriela
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
So delusions an super easy to make! Whole family love it and it was gone in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 978) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States