Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I was craving something fried, and these definitely hit the spot! I used canola oil for frying, panko bread crumbs, and half and half instead of milk. They came out crispy, rich, and absolutely perfect! I definitely recommend these to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I listened to a few of the other reviewers and made some changes. I soaked the rings in buttermilk for an hour first. Then, i added spices like garlic and old bay to the flour mix. I didn't want to use any egg, so i substituted a teaspoon of baking soda mixed in with some water and vinegar--this lets batter rise without egg. It is important to let the battered pieces rest on a rack for a bit prior to frying. I used a regular pan with oil. These are some Killer Rings now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is really good, but extremely messy. If I could find a just as good recipe that's less of a mess, I would love it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
All I had was italian bread crumbs. Never attempted to make onion rings and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
these were amazing! my family loved it! i usually make desserts, so this was the first time making an appetizer. and it turned out just great! instead of coating each onion one by one, i dumped all of them in ziploc bag and shook 'em. then i added the egg and milk, stirred, then added few onions at a time and mushed the coating over them. i didnt do the whole wire rack thing, and they still turned out fine. and for the breadcrumbs, i put them in a plastic container with the onions and shook. and voila! wonderful onion rings. thank you so much for the recipie! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Oh wow, these were really good. Just perfect. I used seasoning salt and a little pinch of cayenne pepper, garlic salt and some pepper to season the flour before coating. These were AWESOME. Once you eat these, you will never eat a frozen onion ring again. These were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe. I cut up 1 1/2 onions and still could have covered 1 more onion with this amount of ingredients. I added a 1/2 t cornstarch, and smoked paprika for flavor. My hubby loved these so much! I used Panko breadcrumbs of course, why would anyone use any other kind. They give the best crunch on everything. Thanks to "Christina B" Jan 16, 2008 for her suggestion of using a plastic bag. WOW. No mess is correct. I will always use your method Christina...so easy. Delicious folks ! Give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
1 word: YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My rings didn't come out fully coated after the frying, I think it was due to the dipping in the breadcrumbs. BUT they were still good the taste of the batter was great. Next time I will dip w/Out the breadcrumbs to see how they come out. All in all fantastic for my first try at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
DELICIOUS!, also really good made with french onion ring crumbs, i found them at the dollar general..and they were soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States