Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Absolutely AWESOME!! Everyone loves them and I never have leftovers. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
These were the best onion rings I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I made these for my family and everyone loved them,even my picky daughter who doesnt like onions! This is my new recipe for onion rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
They are the best loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I cut these in 1/2” slices because I wanted a nice thick onion ring. Cutting them 1/4” as suggested yields more of a shoestring type onion ring. They are very easy to make, but you do have to work somewhat quickly. If you let the egg batter drip too long, it dries and you cannot get the breading to stick. It helps to work in small batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I was craving something fried, and these definitely hit the spot! I used canola oil for frying, panko bread crumbs, and half and half instead of milk. They came out crispy, rich, and absolutely perfect! I definitely recommend these to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I listened to a few of the other reviewers and made some changes. I soaked the rings in buttermilk for an hour first. Then, i added spices like garlic and old bay to the flour mix. I didn't want to use any egg, so i substituted a teaspoon of baking soda mixed in with some water and vinegar--this lets batter rise without egg. It is important to let the battered pieces rest on a rack for a bit prior to frying. I used a regular pan with oil. These are some Killer Rings now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is really good, but extremely messy. If I could find a just as good recipe that's less of a mess, I would love it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
All I had was italian bread crumbs. Never attempted to make onion rings and this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
these were amazing! my family loved it! i usually make desserts, so this was the first time making an appetizer. and it turned out just great! instead of coating each onion one by one, i dumped all of them in ziploc bag and shook 'em. then i added the egg and milk, stirred, then added few onions at a time and mushed the coating over them. i didnt do the whole wire rack thing, and they still turned out fine. and for the breadcrumbs, i put them in a plastic container with the onions and shook. and voila! wonderful onion rings. thank you so much for the recipie! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 943) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States