Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Roxy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I give it four stars not five stars because the first batch I made was a little bland. For the second batch, I sprinkled the raw onion rings with onion powder, garlic powder and salt. I then followed the recipe exactly from there. For a quick and easy dipping sauce, I mixed equal parts ketchup and mayo; perfect! Between my husband and my kids there wasn't a ring left. I used two ziploc bags to coat the rings so clean up was fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I actually made a mistake when mixing the batter up. I was just looking at the ingredients and so I mixed everything together! It was soooo thick, so I read the instructions and realized what I'd done wrong. Anyway, I just added about a cup more milk and made a batter that I coated the onion rings in before deep frying! Wow were they ever good! My kids were eating them faster then I could keep up! These are my favorite onion rings ever! I think I'll make the mixing mistake again because it made it so much easier for me. One less step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great basic recipe, Used panko in the food processor, seasoned with Cayenne pepper, Salt,smoked paprika . After slicing onions I soaked them in milk for a few hrs.(Could go overnight) Helps everything stick to the onion. 4.5 stars b4 changes, 5 star after Happy Eats :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
"This should be illegal!"--dear hubbie. We ate 'em all. Delicious. Best we have ever had--home or restaurant. Even great leftover cold out of the fridge. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made these tonight with my steak they were delish.... Plan on making them more often my kids even tried them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Awesome onion rings! I do want to figure out how to season the panko crumbs to get some more flavor in there. I bet this recipe would be awesome for fried zucchini too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
this is a brilliant recipe! followed the recipe to the very last bit and it turned out to be one of the best onion rings i've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were good but a little tricky to make without a deep fryer since I didn't have any way to know the temperature of the oil. The first one I had my stove set at 8 and it started to burn too fast so I turned it down to 4 and they didn't cook so probably around 6-7 is good. If you let the onions sit too long to drip then the bread crumbs do not stick so well and the whole breading starts to come off in the oil. I am sure it all takes practice to get it down right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Holy Cow these are good! We have a local restaurant that is famous for their onion rings and these a WAY better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriela
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
So delusions an super easy to make! Whole family love it and it was gone in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States