Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a GREAT onion ring recipe - can't beat making your own at home and tastes just like your favorite drive-in rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have never made onion rings at home before until I tried this recipe. They turned out great. I don't know why I never thought of making these at home. They so beat the cold onion rings it seems that I get in a restaurant. My husband really liked them too. Instead of having hamburgers and fries, I think I will rotate with the onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best onion rings I ever made. I don't know why this recipe has some bad reviews.This came so well crispy not greasy. I had done breading each single onion slices so took longer but ok. I used Progresso Bread crumbs (Plain) if it helps you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I loved it! I used Panko instead of the bread crumbs and added seasoning to the panko. The Panko helped to make them super crispy! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
was good but took to long and messy....had trouble with this on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I had to add that there is no need to tweak this recipe at all - it is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe the first time I tried it! I have even used it for fried chicken multiple times (add spices like cajun or smoked paprika to the batter and bread crumbs), it is amazing!! It's the only way I cook onion rings and fried chicken now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunny170

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these Onion Rings one day for my family but instead of using 1 onion I used 2 because I thought 1 just wouldn't be enough. HUGE mistake! 1 onion would have been plenty. I also used Panko bread crumbs for that incredible crunch. Absolutely delicious and way better than any Onion Ring you order in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Pretty foolproof recipe, but a little messy and the ratio of batter to onion to breadcrumbs was off. I needed at least twice as many breadcrumbs to get through an entire large onion, and there was leftover batter. With panko crumbs, these come out impeccably crunchy. I fried them in a skillet with about 1/2 inch of oil and flipped them once as I don't have a deep fryer - works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Substituted cracker crumbs for the bread crumbs. It was delicious, tasted like they came from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 943) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States