Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
They were good. A bit doughy sometimes but that may have been because I didn't put them on a rack to drip! Would def do again! P.s. I did not bread crumb them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Rizzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Throughout the years I've attempted to make onion rings at home, both with store purchased mix as well as from scratch mixtures. This one blew me away!! I couldn't have found a better recipe! I made it exactly as the recipe stated, aside from using the panko crumbs I had on hand, as well as 3tbs of regular seasoned bread crumbs. Yes, it's a messy recipe to make (although the tips about the cooking rack were awesome!), it's completely worth it. They looked fantastic before they went in the oil and they looked even better when they came out. Not only was the onion cooked inside, but the outside was PERFECT! Crispy, light and the flavor was spot on! One of my daughters is fairly picky about onion rings and even she enjoyed them. I will always, ALWAYS use this recipe! I wish I could have given it ten stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrettyProphet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Parma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Great recipe! They were a little bland at first, but them we added some white sugar and salt to the bread crumbs and they were much better! Keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These simply are the best onion rings I've ever had. I used panko bread crumbs and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Good recipe, but without any seasoning, a bit bland. I added onion powder and black pepper to the second batch. A significant improvement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
We use Panko Bread crumbs and they are to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA
Living In: Rose Hill, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I also made these with panko, but I didn't crush it. I used Vidalia onions. They were crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I tried this for my family and it was wonderful...but a bit messy but totally worth it. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I found this recipe a while back. I had been in search of a crunchy onion ring recipe. I had to look no further because I had found what I was looking for in this recipe. Although, I don't season my onion rings with seasoning salt but that is mostly a family preference more than anything. My family loves these onion rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 999) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States