Old Fashioned Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These cookies were GREAT. I did make a few alterations though - added 1 tsp of cinnamon and decreased the baking time to 10 mins. They remain soft and the cinnamon gives it a little extra umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
These were delicious, however I made a few changes. First, I used 1/4 C MILK instead of 1/4 C water. Then I added 1/2 tsp salt with the dry ingredients. I also increased the flour to 1 1/2 C because I live at a high altitute (7200 ft). The dough was delicious! I cooked them on my baking stone for 11 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I tried this recipe...it tastes good but the cookies were crumbly not chewy...any ideas why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I had to eat my way through a lot of oatmeal cookie recipes before I finally found this one. These taste bud tantilizers are reminescent of the cookies sold in my high school cafeteria back in 1959...at a penny each. On the first day: crunchy while still chewy. Second day: if any remain, softer with big flavor. Substitute vanilla extract for the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Awesome cookies! they are chewy and so good. I think I found a winner. My husband my children looooooooooooved them. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I love these cookies! If you like a thick chewy cookie though, these are not for you. These ones are kind of airier and crispier, but still soft, which is what I like. And they aren't overly sugary like some others I have had. I didn't have any almond extract though, so I used vanilla and I did add a teaspoon of cinnamon. Yum yum yum! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina G

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I added 2 Tbsp. baking cocoa, and substituted 1/2 C Splenda for the 1/2 C white sugar.... turned out wonderfully! Relatively healthy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
3 and a 1/2 stars as it was quite tasty - we even skipped the cooling part in the fridge and they turned out nicely dense and chewy though the almond was a bit over powering so next time its a dash not a 1/2! added raisins and flax seeds for fun and it was very tasty:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriannap

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Great recipe! Took me weeks to find the right one. Even worked without the egg which was good for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Holy Heck these are good! I split the 2/3c butter between crisco and real butter..used vanilla instead of almond extract..added dried cranberries soaked in burgunday wine and finely chopped almonds....and WOW....yum! I found that if you cook them closer to the heat, they spread out and make a cripsier cookie....put the dough in the fridge first, and cook towards the top of the oven for a thicker cookie that holds its shape well. Both are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States