Old Fashioned Oatmeal Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Fabulous! I made some necessary alterations due to the lack of processed food in Africa. Instead of brown sugar, I used wild honey from Kabala. I used whole wheat flour, and added craisins and walnuts. I baked them on my stone. Everyone LOVES them, and we're calling them my Kabala cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Freetown, Western Area, Sierra Leone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were really good. I substituted vanilla extract but will try with the almond next time. I added raisins for hubby and walnuts for me and we were both happy. Be careful not to make them too big - they really spread out - but maybe because I didn't bother to refrigerate the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I thought I had found the perfect Oatmeal cookie recipe because of the photo shown with it. I was so disappointed. My cookies came out looking nothing like them. They were thin and fell apart. The taste was too sweet for us and the almond extract was overpowering. If you like sweet, you can cut back on the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
these were great. I didn't add the water but added dried cranberries and baked right away for 14 min. they were part chewy and part crispy. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My nine-year-old made these cookies, and they are delicious! We didn't have almond extract, and so substituted vanilla, plus added some cinnamon. When she scooped the dough she packed it in, and I think that helped the cookies hold together well, instead of turning out crumbly as someone else mentioned. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I thought these cookies were great. I had to add 2-3 tbsp of water to the finished batter, before refrigerating. Also I decreased the baking time to ten minutes; that left them nice and chewy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I agree though with another review that there is too much almond extract. Use 1/2 teaspoon is plenty. I added choco chips and walnuts instead of the 3rd cup of oatmeal. They turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I also added some crunched up blanched almond pieces, and that went well with the almond extract used:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khrysten1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These were delicious, I didn't cook them for quite as long as it said to, so they were really soft when done. Then Left them on the cookie sheet a couple of minutes and froze them. That way they are ready when company comes over unexpected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great Recipe! Like suggested by another person, I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also reduced the baking time to 10 min as I wanted soft instead of crunchy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States