Old Fashioned Molasses Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
**To Erin*** You pull taffy a little bit at a time, it's a family type thing. You can't pull it all at once because it's too much to work with. Get the kids to help and start with a baseball to softball size piece and pull till golden. It's a lot of fun on a family night although it tends to get eaten up during the pulling time. You had problems with it because you have to butter your hands and pull it until you work enough air through it to make it set up. All Taffy is like this, it has to be pulled for 15-20 minutes until it turns from dark brown to light golden and then it is cut into chunks and wrapped in wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was fun to make and has an excellent flavor. It's now our favorite taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I tried to make this recipe 3 times. I followed all the directions to a tee. I found that when it gets time to pull the taffy that it's really sticky and sticks to your fingers and hands, this recipe is more like a caramel than a taffy. I don't think I will be trying this again. I even tried cooking it a little warmer than it calls for, it still does the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buterfly628

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This taffy has great flavour and was easy to make! I ended up with 50 pieces that I shared with friends and family; they all thought it was delicious! Definately a recipe I will make again and again, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8fruit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I will need to try this again! the flavor was great but I didn't have the pulling down and there for made a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Luthman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I was very successful with this recipe. It had the texture and colour that it should and handled very well with butter on my hands like any taffy. I gave it a four because as great as it looked it didn't quite have the great flavour that I was looking for although my kids loved it. I may come back to this but I think I'll try others first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Actually you dont have to pull it if you dont want Taffy. My grandmother made this for us when we were little about 45 or more years ago. We called it Molassas Candy. Cook to hard ball, pour in buttered pan, put in fridge until hard, break into pieces with hammer and it rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This was the best...And only taffy we have made. It has a great flavore and we had a fun time pulling it. Although it did start to melt a little after we pulled it for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Three of us pulled this taffy. I had problems with it sticking to my hands while the others did not. I ran my hands under cold water dried and reapplied butter. The taffy pulled without a problem. It was a fun project for my teenage grandchildren and a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States