Old Fashioned Mac'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I substitued for 2% and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fabiola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I do not think we would like the soy milk, could I substitute that with like 2% milk? The whole recipe sounds yummy except for that part. :-( Help Nana! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Yummy recipe. I used skim milk & italian-style bread crumbs & it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I added ham and used 2% milk. I've tried several mac and cheese recipes, and this is the only one that my husband has raved about--and not complained. My 2 year old loved it as well. I'll be doubling the next batch and freezing half in a cassarole dish for a quick and healthy week night meal! Thanks for a great mac and cheese recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I've made this twice now, and both times it was a crowd hit - first thing gone from the table, and in record time. I used extra sharp cheddar cheese. The first time I cubed the cheese, the second time I shredded - both came out equally delicious. I also added some parm cheese to the panko topping - it browned nicely in the oven and gave it that little bit of extra flavor. I used a mix of 1/2 & 1/2 and whole milk in place of soy milk the 1st time, all skim milk the second time, and again, both were delicious (obviously the first was more rich). If you're trying to save a few calories, I forgot the melted butter the 2nd time and nobody noticed. Thanks so much for a wonderful mac & cheese recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Was easy to do and my kids LOVED this! Better than making the Kraft processed Mac N Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Verry easy ! took no time at all ! time to eat !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
good. used soy milk as called for and as usual you wouldn't know the difference. i grated the cheese and added some parmesan in with the panko as well, as another review suggested. it was nicely cheesy and had a creamy texture. the only change i might make next time is to add something for a bit of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by h2opixie
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I am not much of a mac n cheese fan, but really wanted to give a from scratch version a try. My husband typically only likes the from the box kind ( the color of that powdered cheese just grosses me out). This was a success! It was creamy and cheesy and a lovely side dish. It is hearty enough that it could be a meal on it's own with veggies and proteins thrown in. Beware, the serving size seems off. The recipe made quite a large batch - I would think 8-10 good sized servings rather than the listed 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
It was very simple to make but dry and not creamy. I used garlic/herb bread crumbs and that was tasty...might look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States