Old Fashioned Mac'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I do not think we would like the soy milk, could I substitute that with like 2% milk? The whole recipe sounds yummy except for that part. :-( Help Nana! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I substitued for 2% and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fabiola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Yummy recipe. I used skim milk & italian-style bread crumbs & it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
The taste was ok, but I didn't feel like the cheese distributed throughout the dish very well. It melted, but it was right where the chunk of cheese was, it didn't spread. Maybe I didn't cube it small enough, I'm not sure what went wrong. I also used italian bread crumbs for the topping and 1% milk instead of soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I did not care for this recipe....it was very dry and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I've made this twice now, and both times it was a crowd hit - first thing gone from the table, and in record time. I used extra sharp cheddar cheese. The first time I cubed the cheese, the second time I shredded - both came out equally delicious. I also added some parm cheese to the panko topping - it browned nicely in the oven and gave it that little bit of extra flavor. I used a mix of 1/2 & 1/2 and whole milk in place of soy milk the 1st time, all skim milk the second time, and again, both were delicious (obviously the first was more rich). If you're trying to save a few calories, I forgot the melted butter the 2nd time and nobody noticed. Thanks so much for a wonderful mac & cheese recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Was easy to do and my kids LOVED this! Better than making the Kraft processed Mac N Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Verry easy ! took no time at all ! time to eat !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
It was very simple to make but dry and not creamy. I used garlic/herb bread crumbs and that was tasty...might look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was okay. It seemed a bit dry. There was a lot leftover. Not a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika D. Melrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States