Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I took this to a cook-out and everyone enjoyed it. I still think that the recipe lacked a little something, but judging by the amount I had left to take home (about half), I think I will try and add my own twist to this one to get the flavor I am looking for. Maybe a little seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
We were entertaining some neighbors and I made this to go along with a brisket and red potatoes. I didn't have any tuna, so I left it out, but added chopped boiled eggs. Instead of celery, I like to add minced onions and some paprika. I've read over other macaroni salad recipes that add some cider vinegar to the mayo. I'm thinking that would give it a sweet and sour taste, which I think I might try when I DO make this again. My company loved it!! Thanks bunches Jennie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Really great and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Wow! How about that garlic? Good salad, but I cut garlic back to 1t, used 4 green onions, 1 cup mayo, and 1T Dijon mustard. Hard cooked eggs will be used next time I make this. Thanks Jennie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Yum. I have made this twice now, the first time following it to a tee for (tuna macaroni) & the second time just looking for macaroni salad, in which I changed a bit. I used eggs instead of tuna, miracle whip instead of mayo, red peppers instead of green, and per my hubbys suggestion, ketchup instead of mustard (which was a suprisingly pleasnt change). We like it both ways! Thanks Jennie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This recipe is great! I don't like onions so left them out but I substituted one green bell pepper, instead used half a green and half red bell pepper. I also took other posted advice and used only 1 tbsp garlic powder. Turned out delicious. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I wanted something a bit different than the usual macaroni salad, but it was different all right. Despite the small amount of mustard I added, it was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I tried this recipe out for the 4th of July barbecue. I omitted the tuna (my husband is allergic) and added hard-boiled eggs, which we love (I used 6 of them), as well as salad cubes (added a lot more green pepper to it!!!). This recipe does NOT taste sickeningly sweet like the store-bought, but adds an interesting flavor to the meal. Warning: if you're not a garlic lover, cut down on the garlic by half, you can smell this dish from miles away. This was an interesting twist on macaroni salad, but I'm not sure I'd make it again because of the heavy amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Good, except waaaay too much garlic. I made it for myself over a weekend, which was fortunate since I quite literally exuded garlic -- could smell it on my skin. At least I kept the vampires away. I love garlic, but this recipe should cut the garlic by about two thirds. I made it again using 2 teaspoons and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States