Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Wow! How about that garlic? Good salad, but I cut garlic back to 1t, used 4 green onions, 1 cup mayo, and 1T Dijon mustard. Hard cooked eggs will be used next time I make this. Thanks Jennie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Yum. I have made this twice now, the first time following it to a tee for (tuna macaroni) & the second time just looking for macaroni salad, in which I changed a bit. I used eggs instead of tuna, miracle whip instead of mayo, red peppers instead of green, and per my hubbys suggestion, ketchup instead of mustard (which was a suprisingly pleasnt change). We like it both ways! Thanks Jennie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This recipe is great! I don't like onions so left them out but I substituted one green bell pepper, instead used half a green and half red bell pepper. I also took other posted advice and used only 1 tbsp garlic powder. Turned out delicious. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I wanted something a bit different than the usual macaroni salad, but it was different all right. Despite the small amount of mustard I added, it was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I tried this recipe out for the 4th of July barbecue. I omitted the tuna (my husband is allergic) and added hard-boiled eggs, which we love (I used 6 of them), as well as salad cubes (added a lot more green pepper to it!!!). This recipe does NOT taste sickeningly sweet like the store-bought, but adds an interesting flavor to the meal. Warning: if you're not a garlic lover, cut down on the garlic by half, you can smell this dish from miles away. This was an interesting twist on macaroni salad, but I'm not sure I'd make it again because of the heavy amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Good, except waaaay too much garlic. I made it for myself over a weekend, which was fortunate since I quite literally exuded garlic -- could smell it on my skin. At least I kept the vampires away. I love garlic, but this recipe should cut the garlic by about two thirds. I made it again using 2 teaspoons and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
Since my husband hates tuna, I substituted canned chunk chicken. I also reduced the amount of onion and garlic. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
My mom made some version of this for years. I made this version and it was pretty good. Definately use only 1/4 or half of onion. I also added sliced black olives, which I think really MAKES the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
This recipe was great!! I added some eggs and green onions to mine, but otherwise it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States