Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Very good recipe. I didn't put in the celery and cut the garlic to 1 tablespoon. Added paprika on the top. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I substituted a red bell pepper for the green. We loved it! Good as a sandwich! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
We loved this, even Scott who doesn't like cold pasta. I did make a coupld of changes. We used can chicken (don't like tuna)(I put in in a bowl and separated the chunks with a fork), used the little salad macaronies, red pepper instead of green and add chopped cucumber. We also used lite miracle whip instead of the mayo (we're not big mayo fans). I'd been looking for an easier way to make chicken mac salad and this was perfect. You couldn't even tell that the chicken was canned, and it was so much easier than boiling that chicken all day. thanks:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This was pretty good, but perhaps a bit too much of something I couldn't put a finger on. Maybe the garlic, though I usually like lots of garlic. Left out the green pepper. I'm sure I'll make it again, perhaps cutting the garlic a bit. One thing though is that I can't see this being 10 servings, even adding back in the volume of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
My husband wanted a macaroni salad like his Mother use to make. This was all I could find close to hers. I did double it (we were serving 20 people) did not add the tuna (I was worried not all would like it) everyone did like it. After the party my husband wanted to add the tuna to see what it would taste like. We loved it (next time I will make just like original recipe), it is very good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This recipe is almost identical to my own Macaroni salad recipe with a couple of changes: We hate celery, so I leave that out. I use red pepper instead of green pepper. I always add 3 ingredients that make my tuna macaroni salad special: a few chopped pickles, a shredded carrot, and a half a box of frozen green peas. I've brought this salad to a ton of camping trips and potlucks, and EVERYONE loves it! I also throw in a few dashes of Ranch dressing if I happen to have some in the fridge! Everyone always asks if I'm bringing the macaroni salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Mmmmm! I cut the onion small though, because we don't care for "onion bites".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I took this to a cook-out and everyone enjoyed it. I still think that the recipe lacked a little something, but judging by the amount I had left to take home (about half), I think I will try and add my own twist to this one to get the flavor I am looking for. Maybe a little seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
We were entertaining some neighbors and I made this to go along with a brisket and red potatoes. I didn't have any tuna, so I left it out, but added chopped boiled eggs. Instead of celery, I like to add minced onions and some paprika. I've read over other macaroni salad recipes that add some cider vinegar to the mayo. I'm thinking that would give it a sweet and sour taste, which I think I might try when I DO make this again. My company loved it!! Thanks bunches Jennie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Really great and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States