Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This has become my holy grail macaroni salad recipe. I took it to a church supper a couple of months ago, and it was a big hit!! I did make a minor change, in that I used Miracle Whip in place of the mayonnaise. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Made it first time and immediate realize that I must use honey Dijon mustard instead. I also added paprika and about 1 and 1/2 of table spoon of Dill pickle juice to taste. Without paprika and pickle juice it is kinda flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Was just OK. Very bland, it was missing something but I don't know what. Green pepper and celery was to much crunch. This salad was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Eh, it was ok. I did add some of the things that other people suggested (hard boiled eggs, cucumber, pickles) but this salad just didn't do it for me. Even after added a ton of salt it still tasted bland. I like the recipe on the side of the Mueller's box better. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I'm very fond of this recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Very good recipe. I didn't put in the celery and cut the garlic to 1 tablespoon. Added paprika on the top. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I substituted a red bell pepper for the green. We loved it! Good as a sandwich! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
We loved this, even Scott who doesn't like cold pasta. I did make a coupld of changes. We used can chicken (don't like tuna)(I put in in a bowl and separated the chunks with a fork), used the little salad macaronies, red pepper instead of green and add chopped cucumber. We also used lite miracle whip instead of the mayo (we're not big mayo fans). I'd been looking for an easier way to make chicken mac salad and this was perfect. You couldn't even tell that the chicken was canned, and it was so much easier than boiling that chicken all day. thanks:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This was pretty good, but perhaps a bit too much of something I couldn't put a finger on. Maybe the garlic, though I usually like lots of garlic. Left out the green pepper. I'm sure I'll make it again, perhaps cutting the garlic a bit. One thing though is that I can't see this being 10 servings, even adding back in the volume of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
My husband wanted a macaroni salad like his Mother use to make. This was all I could find close to hers. I did double it (we were serving 20 people) did not add the tuna (I was worried not all would like it) everyone did like it. After the party my husband wanted to add the tuna to see what it would taste like. We loved it (next time I will make just like original recipe), it is very good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States