Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
My husband and I thought this recipe was very good. I only used 1 cup mayo and added a boiled egg. Also I didn't have macaroni so I used whole wheat noodles. I wasn't sure how it would turn out but it was good. I'm sure with macaroni it will be great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Made it as written and we thought it was good. Then took the advice of other reviewers and replaced one can of tuna with 2 hard boiled eggs. We liked it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
As is I would only rate a 3 as there is way too much garlic powder per our taste. I think this recipe does have a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a great classic macaroni salad. I make it without the mustard and it is always perfect. It's a hit in the summer at picnics, family reunions or whenever the family just gets together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I really loved this recipe. The only thing I did different is instead of rinsing off the noodles I drained them and I added 6 slices of kraft American cheese and omitted green peppers and mustard. Instead I added 3 tbsp of French dressing. I did all this at once. No extra bowls or cooling off and instead of using a spoon to stir, I used my hands, it was excellent. I did notice that the recipe asked for 2c of noodles but I used 4c of dry elbow noodles, I could've used a little more mayo but still I put it refrigerator over night and it was good. We had it Memorial day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Just the way I like it!! For an experiment, I threw in some Dill and Thyme. It was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
i had some left over tuna salad that i knew no one would touch in days, so i made this. i halved the recipe, and by golly it was g-o-o-d. i was jonesing for that macaroni salad one of my staff shared with me so i added some raisins. it was a great contrast to the mustard. (for some reason, the mustard really stood out.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I TRYED THIS RECIPE, I USED EGGS INSTEAD OF TUNA, WE'RE NOT BIG TUNA FANS, AND ADDED HALF OF AN ONION, LITTLE PAPRIKA AND MIRACLE WHIP INSTEAD OF MAYO, AND I LIKED IT, AND MY HUSBAND REALLY LIKE IT TOO, THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It's simple to make and it taste just like my grandmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Great recipe if you don't like a sweet macaroni salad. My husband who hates the normal sweet macaroni salad loves this. He said what ever you do don't lose this recipe. I used one can of tuna and three boiled eggs and only 1 tbls of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States