Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I always make it with a few changes. I always omit the celery because I don't like it. I also always add about a cup of frozen peas and about 2 T Italian salad dressing to give it a little zip. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
vary good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe is quite good. The celery and green pepper adds some crunch to it. HOWEVER, I tweaked it by adding one cup of mayo and one cup of Miracle Whip (adds some tang and keeps the salad from drying out) some paprika and the missing ingredient, SWEET RELISH. Adding the relish kicked this up to where my family loves the salad more than before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is perfect for me. I used 1 box of elbow macaroni, 1 can of tuna and 5 hard boiled eggs, a splash or two of dill pickle juice, and real mayonnaise with the garlic powder, salt and pepper. Delicious! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very good. We used orange pepper instead of green. Used about 1/2 cup chopped onion. I only added 1 1/2 tablespoon of garlic powder and only 1 cup mayo. Then we added cucumber and dill pickle relish and it was great. But I am sure it would be great just as written. We just embelished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Loved the recipe, I did not use the chopped bell pepper or celery instead I used egg whites and relish it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Delicious! I added 2 eggs, 10 sliced kalamata olives, and used red pepper instead of green. I want to eat the whole bowl myself. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This recipe was a hit at my potluck luncheon today. I did follow some of the advice of several folks who posted reviews ..I only used 1 can of tuna, added 3 eggs, reduced the garlic powder to 1 tsp..Everything else I kept the same..everyone loved it...and it was not dry after being in the fridge overnight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Wow! This is excellent. I made this to have for lunches the next few days, and it is very good. I had everything on hand to make it, except that I used red pepper instead of green and only had one can of tuna, so I also added two hard boiled eggs. I prefer Miracle Whip to mayo, so I used half and half. Also used celery salt instead of regular salt. Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Delicious! I used a whole 1 lb. box of macaroni, a red bell pepper and added some chopped boiled eggs to mine- it was excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States