Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I tried this recipe out for the 4th of July barbecue. I omitted the tuna (my husband is allergic) and added hard-boiled eggs, which we love (I used 6 of them), as well as salad cubes (added a lot more green pepper to it!!!). This recipe does NOT taste sickeningly sweet like the store-bought, but adds an interesting flavor to the meal. Warning: if you're not a garlic lover, cut down on the garlic by half, you can smell this dish from miles away. This was an interesting twist on macaroni salad, but I'm not sure I'd make it again because of the heavy amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Good, except waaaay too much garlic. I made it for myself over a weekend, which was fortunate since I quite literally exuded garlic -- could smell it on my skin. At least I kept the vampires away. I love garlic, but this recipe should cut the garlic by about two thirds. I made it again using 2 teaspoons and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
Since my husband hates tuna, I substituted canned chunk chicken. I also reduced the amount of onion and garlic. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
My mom made some version of this for years. I made this version and it was pretty good. Definately use only 1/4 or half of onion. I also added sliced black olives, which I think really MAKES the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
This recipe was great!! I added some eggs and green onions to mine, but otherwise it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
This recipie sounds good. Actually I made a version of this at home. Less onion needed (only need a tbsp), less mayo (add to taste) and add a chopped egg to accentuate flavor. Otherwise, is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
This is an awesome recipe. I used too much onion (I used a white onion, next time will try either green onion or purple onion..any other onion that is not quite so strong. The strong onion spoiled the taste, but yet it was good. I skipped the tuna (didn't use anything in its place) completely and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
I used crab meat instead of tuna, which my husband won't eat. Good this way, but not a lot of flavor. Could it be the crab substitution?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
WOW! This is really good! I hesitated at 2 Tbs of garlic but I am a garlic lover and thought what the heck and was glad I did. Verrrrrrrry tasty! I substituted 4 hard boiled eggs for the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Excellent recipe. Tried this using all low-fat/fat-free ingredients and it turned out great. Plan on taking this to a cookout this weekend. One of my 3-year olds loved it. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States