Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I tried this and it was OK but really all I could taste was the bell pepper. Next time I'll leave that out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
It was simply amazing! It was probably the best macaroni salad i've ever tasted. Since i didn't have any green bell pepper, I replaced it with one carrot that i have grated. Also, for the onion, I used red onion just because it gives color and, for me, it has a better taste then any other type of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aki chaki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aprilbaby422
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
It was perfect. My tuna cans were 5 ounces so I used 3 cans. And I added a little cayenne pepper. Just a tab. This was a perfect, easy recipe that taste great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I just made this I've tasted it so far so good I'm waiting for It to get cold but my husband says if its good warm its going to be slamming cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Not bad, not good, won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I loved this and have FINALLY found my go-to Macaroni Salad recipe. Was making for a Volleyball gathering so I doubled the recipe but did NOT double the onion or garlic (social gathering/lots of kids). I also omitted the tuna and instead put in 4 hard boiled eggs, and sub'd red pepper for the green, which I minced. If making for home I would leave the onion the same and probably still halve the garlic. This DEFINITELY needs to sit overnight ... the flavors were SO MUCH BETTER the next day ... and onion totally mellowed out (thank god!). Will try with the tuna as well. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a good tuna pasta salad. I will make this again but for our tastes I would cut back on the mustard and the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I always make it with a few changes. I always omit the celery because I don't like it. I also always add about a cup of frozen peas and about 2 T Italian salad dressing to give it a little zip. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
vary good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe is quite good. The celery and green pepper adds some crunch to it. HOWEVER, I tweaked it by adding one cup of mayo and one cup of Miracle Whip (adds some tang and keeps the salad from drying out) some paprika and the missing ingredient, SWEET RELISH. Adding the relish kicked this up to where my family loves the salad more than before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States