Old Fashioned Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This is the best lemon pie recipe I've tasted!!! I registered here just to leave this review. I didnt have lemon zest but I added a few drops of lemon extract. Also, I dont have a double boiler but it cooks fine in a pan if you stir continually and watch the temperature. YUM!! Thank you for adding it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This is by far the best lemon filling! Just the right amount of tartness and flavor, as well as, a wonderful consistancy that doesn't run when cut into. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
What a great recipe! Everyone loved it and said it reminded them of the lemon pie their mother used to make. Had no children here to try it, but sure they would like it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Unlike the chiffon pies that so many enjoy, I find this one not as tart. This is like the one on the side of a major selling cornstarch, but, since I buy generic, I was glad to find it on the web. I did not use the double boiler but cooked it over a low heat. For those that had a runny mixture, you didn't cook it long enough. Stir constantly and when it starts to "boil" like a "lava" bed, it will be thick enough to pour. The meringue also takes a long time to whip, so it is best to use an electric mixer. Also, egg whites whip better into meringue when they are at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is the BEST Lemon Pie recipe I have ever used. I have used the recipe several times, with consistantly GREAT results! It is always a hit at Easter and family reunions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
I liked this recipe. I will make it again, but I'll probably leave out the lemon zest, as I didn't like the texture it added to the pie. Otherwise, it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was a big hit at my family dinner. It was a bit finicky when I was making it. I had to cook it way longer to get it to get the right consistency. Well worth it though. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This pie turned out beautifully and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent! My husband said this tasted like restaurant pie! Hint: I heated the lemon filling on medium, and let the eggs sit in room temp for a half hour or so before making the meringue. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Really good and is a "husband pleaser". The instructions were clear and accurate and the end product was much appreciated. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States