Old Fashioned Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Where did I go wrong?!?!? I followed the recipe to a 'T' and my lemon filling did not thicken as directed. So I ended up with lemom liquid:-( I'd like to try this recipe again-any advice from my fellow chefs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Unlike the chiffon pies that so many enjoy, I find this one not as tart. This is like the one on the side of a major selling cornstarch, but, since I buy generic, I was glad to find it on the web. I did not use the double boiler but cooked it over a low heat. For those that had a runny mixture, you didn't cook it long enough. Stir constantly and when it starts to "boil" like a "lava" bed, it will be thick enough to pour. The meringue also takes a long time to whip, so it is best to use an electric mixer. Also, egg whites whip better into meringue when they are at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This is the best lemon pie recipe I've tasted!!! I registered here just to leave this review. I didnt have lemon zest but I added a few drops of lemon extract. Also, I dont have a double boiler but it cooks fine in a pan if you stir continually and watch the temperature. YUM!! Thank you for adding it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2000
I liked the freshness of the ingredients used in this recipe! I did alter the proportions of sugar to lemon and lemon rind, so as to create a filling which had a more lemon-y flavor to it. I added more lemon juice and less sugar. Otherwise, it's good recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This pie turned out beautifully and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Patience is the key here. I did modify the recipe after the fist go around, for my family it was too sweet and not lemony enough. Since the first pie, I use the following modifications: 1. Cook directly on the burner and whisk almost constantly, let the mixture boil for two minutes while whisking constantly so as to not burn (it takes a while). 2. Reduce the sugar to ¾ cup. 3. Increase lemon juice to ¾ cup. 4. Use 2 Tablespoons lemon zest. Cooling the mixture before placing it in the crust is essential. The four stars is for the recipe as written, before my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is the BEST Lemon Pie recipe I have ever used. I have used the recipe several times, with consistantly GREAT results! It is always a hit at Easter and family reunions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This recipe was forgetable....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I was so excited I finally found the directions for making my late Mother's lemon meringue pie! I had the list of ingredients of hers, but no directions on how to make it. It tasted the same, I followed the directions from this recipe to a tee. Everything went well, the lemon thickened to perfection and the meringue was piled high and browned. With our tummies full of expectations I cut it after refrigerating it for at least 3 hours and the filling was runny with water. It tasted fine, but was inedible. I tossed it! Can anyone tell me what went wrong? Thanks in advance for any help.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitinsville, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Just a lemon mer pie. Why make it sound like it's something different? also try the real recipe on the cornstarch box.you just altered ing and it is runny.NEEDS CORNSTARCH.ON BOX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States