Old Fashioned Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2000
I liked the freshness of the ingredients used in this recipe! I did alter the proportions of sugar to lemon and lemon rind, so as to create a filling which had a more lemon-y flavor to it. I added more lemon juice and less sugar. Otherwise, it's good recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This is by far the best lemon filling! Just the right amount of tartness and flavor, as well as, a wonderful consistancy that doesn't run when cut into. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
What a great recipe! Everyone loved it and said it reminded them of the lemon pie their mother used to make. Had no children here to try it, but sure they would like it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This is the best lemon pie recipe I've tasted!!! I registered here just to leave this review. I didnt have lemon zest but I added a few drops of lemon extract. Also, I dont have a double boiler but it cooks fine in a pan if you stir continually and watch the temperature. YUM!! Thank you for adding it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is the BEST Lemon Pie recipe I have ever used. I have used the recipe several times, with consistantly GREAT results! It is always a hit at Easter and family reunions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
I liked this recipe. I will make it again, but I'll probably leave out the lemon zest, as I didn't like the texture it added to the pie. Otherwise, it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Very easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rector

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This pie turned out beautifully and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
The pie was a little tart for my taste and I didn't even add the rind. It also did not set up very well. The filling was quite watery. The meringue was probably my fault, flat as could be, but it did have a nice sweet flavor. I will be looking for another lemon pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Where did I go wrong?!?!? I followed the recipe to a 'T' and my lemon filling did not thicken as directed. So I ended up with lemom liquid:-( I'd like to try this recipe again-any advice from my fellow chefs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States