Old Fashioned Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
loved the lemon part but used a different meringue that used cream of tartar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Excellent! My husband said this tasted like restaurant pie! Hint: I heated the lemon filling on medium, and let the eggs sit in room temp for a half hour or so before making the meringue. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I tried this twice. The lemon filling did not thicken. I am moving on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Really good and is a "husband pleaser". The instructions were clear and accurate and the end product was much appreciated. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was a big hit at my family dinner. It was a bit finicky when I was making it. I had to cook it way longer to get it to get the right consistency. Well worth it though. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I should have read the reviews first. The pie was horrid, it didn't thicken, and the merang....forget it. It didn't lift, or thicken nothing. I suggest you find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tod Wonch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Potterville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
this pie came out really good! for people whose pies came out all gooey and watery...you are supposed to leave it out in room temperature and then put it into the refridgerator...it did not say that though soo 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Unlike the chiffon pies that so many enjoy, I find this one not as tart. This is like the one on the side of a major selling cornstarch, but, since I buy generic, I was glad to find it on the web. I did not use the double boiler but cooked it over a low heat. For those that had a runny mixture, you didn't cook it long enough. Stir constantly and when it starts to "boil" like a "lava" bed, it will be thick enough to pour. The meringue also takes a long time to whip, so it is best to use an electric mixer. Also, egg whites whip better into meringue when they are at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Mine came out like water, but after reading the reviews, I wasnt the only one. Too bad because the flavor was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was runny, but tasted good. Just be careful when carrying and cutting it (it dripped all over me-LOL)! Flavor was great. I did not use a double boiler, just stir often and cook at a LOW temperature. THanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States