Old Fashioned Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe, but made a few modifications as I have never used water to make the filling for my pies. I substituted 1 whole can of evaporated milk for the water, no lemon zest and about 7 tbsp of real lemon juice and 1tbsp of butter. Just remember - everyone likes a different amount of tartness. If the pie is not lemony enough for your taste. You can always stir in more at the end before pouring int pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Augustine, Texas, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Everyone loves my Lemon Meringue Pie. I cook the pudding in the microwave using a 8-cup glass measure. Only 3/4 cups of sugar in pudding. That way you taste more of the lemon flavour. One Tablespoon in the meringue. A few grains of raw sugar can be sprinkled on top of the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
great taste but 1 recipe of filling did not fill 9" pie tin so made a 2nd batch and it worked fine. Had a little left over for a small dish as a pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Just made this. Had to look up recipe as the one I usually use on the side of cornstarch box went out when I put cs in glass container. Licking the kettle it seems a bit tart...added 1/4 c more sugar. Even goofed and put all but butter in sauce pan...cooked very slow. Turned out GREAT!! Nice tang with swetness. I'll save and make again! Happy Thanksgiving to all the other Mad cooks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Patience is the key here. I did modify the recipe after the fist go around, for my family it was too sweet and not lemony enough. Since the first pie, I use the following modifications: 1. Cook directly on the burner and whisk almost constantly, let the mixture boil for two minutes while whisking constantly so as to not burn (it takes a while). 2. Reduce the sugar to ¾ cup. 3. Increase lemon juice to ¾ cup. 4. Use 2 Tablespoons lemon zest. Cooling the mixture before placing it in the crust is essential. The four stars is for the recipe as written, before my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I think the person whose filling didn't thicken enough might have taken it off the heat too soon. It should be quite thick after adding the egg yolks, since the lemon juice will thin it down some. This is a perfect recipe for lemon meringue pie, but if you stir constantly, you can make it in a heavy sauce pan over med. heat, and it will not take as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Liberty, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I was so excited I finally found the directions for making my late Mother's lemon meringue pie! I had the list of ingredients of hers, but no directions on how to make it. It tasted the same, I followed the directions from this recipe to a tee. Everything went well, the lemon thickened to perfection and the meringue was piled high and browned. With our tummies full of expectations I cut it after refrigerating it for at least 3 hours and the filling was runny with water. It tasted fine, but was inedible. I tossed it! Can anyone tell me what went wrong? Thanks in advance for any help.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitinsville, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I had no problems with the recipe, it was delicious, I have been looking for a lemony pie, I did add just 1 more tablespoon of lemon, only because I am a big fan of lemon. I had some filling left over so I just ate it out of the bowl. I will be making this again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Mild tasting. No problem with thickening, but not much of a lemon taste. More of a cream pie texture. Was ok, but on to the next recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This pie was tasty, just make sure you have the patience. My filling didnt thicken after following the instructions to a T, even AFTER an hour, but then i went without the double boiler, and wha-la! it thickend instantly. I altered the sugar content the second time around, and added more zest and juice for a more lemoy-taste. It was FAB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States