Old-Fashioned Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
saw this recipe a few years ago in 2009 and have been making it since!!!! I love it. I love lemons and this is great! A family favorite as well. I have to remember to take a photo the next time I make it. Next time ill make it into a shape!. It is very sweet, so for certain family member I have to tone it down. I did make a few adjustments as I learned to make it but still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
this one is turned out horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Bakery!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This did not turn out how I expected. Did NOT look anything like the picture or lemon bars I ahve made in the past. Tastes ok, but wasn't what I wanted...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This needed tweaking for the shortbread. I used butter and left out the raisins. I added raspberries for contrast flavors. It looked brown on top when it was done, so I might cook the base differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it was more of a cake than a true lemon bar. It looks nothing like the picture provided. If i wanted to make lemon bread I will use this recipe. Otherwise I will look else where for a true lemon bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These had an excellent flavor and chewy texture--on the outside edges that were cooked correctly. The middle was very "sludgy" and remained so even after an extra 15 minutes of cooking. I think next time I'll try it in an 11 x 7 pan, and perhaps drop the oven temperature to 325. I used dried cranberries, they were a wonderful replacement for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
i made these for christmas and my family loved them, i love them! great recipe, i didn't have raisins so i didn't add those, but next time i might try them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
These were good, but I think they would have been better if I'd followed the recipe exactly. I fudged a little on the brown sugar because I ran out, and so I added a cup of mixed powdered sugar and molasses. I do not recommend this, as the molasses takes over the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States