Old-Fashioned Italian Zucchini Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I am going to assume I just did something wrong which is why I am allowing this recipe two stars. I found the recipe sincerely lacking in flavor, and for some reason my fritters came out thick and spongy- not flat and crispy as expected. I put them in a hot oven to try and crisp them up- no dice! I also followed advice and squeezed out extra water. Next time I will just slice, batter and fry zucchini slices- always a winner and always crispy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Easy, delicious, and a good way to use up a common veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This was a great recipe. I changed it up a bit to have actual quantities because veggies come in many sizes. I made it 2 cups of shredded zucchini and 2 cups of diced yellow squash. I also changed the cheese to locatelli and made it 4 tablespoons. I added a little cayenne too for a kick. Next time I will add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These taste just like my late mother in law's recipe. It is exactly the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
One comment, my Italian mom used to slice the zucchini and spread it out on a cookie sheet with a sprinkle of salt on top, to SWEAT out the excess water before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was very easy to make and very delicious. The basil was almost overpowering so next time I'm going to cut back a bit and add more cheese. I'll probably add some other seasoning as well. Did not have a problem with it being too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Loved how this turned out! Took some time to take but after it was all said and done it was worth it. If you guys want a better version of this recipe check it out at
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Good...but I think it was still a llittle bland. Will try using more seasoning next go round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These were an absolutely delicious way to use up all that zucchini from the garden! Very easy to make. I served them with warm marinara sauce. They disappeared quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparky15003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorefield, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I followed this recipe to a T and they came out bland, flat as a pancake and I will pass on ever making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Maynard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States