Old-Fashioned Italian Zucchini Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I adapted a bit. First, I put the shredded and diced zucchini into a bowl and sprinkled the salt on top, left it 5 minutes and then squeezed out the liquid--this prevented the watery problem. Next I substituted corn meal muffin mix for the white flour. Results were thoroughly enjoyed by my husband and my 90 year old Mom who lives with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I made these last night for friends, and they were delicious! To get rid of some of the water, I put the shredded zucchini on some paper towels before adding them to the egg mixture. They were still a bit soggy, especially after sitting out for awhile. Popping them in the oven and baking them for a few minutes might give them a nice crunch. I might add some shredded carrots to the batter next time to give them some more color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I loved these! This recipe seemed simpler than other recipes and I had everything on hand. I grated zucchini for zucchini bread. This was the perfect recipe for the extra grated zucchini! One addition I made was to add a green onion stalk to the basil before chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Good, but the zucchini put off a lot of water after I added the egg, flour, and salt. Had to keep adding flour to absorb the excess moisture. Made the fritters a little flimsy, but still tasted good. Nice way to use up extra zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Wow, tasty goodness! Used three zucchini's because that was all I had. Grated, salted it and let it sit about 10 minutes. Then I squeezed about a cup of water out of it. This took out all of the extra moisture and I did not have to pat it with paper towels, which is good because grated zucchini sticks to everything. I used a powdered parmesan replacement, since we don't eat dairy. The black pepper and fresh basil are key in this. Do not make substitutions or leave them out. Dry basil will not give the interest and fresh tasting quality that the fresh gives. I thought it was too much black pepper when I dumped it in, but it was just right. That said, being a vegetarian, I think these would be very good mock crab cakes, if you subbed fresh dill for basil and Old Bay for the salt and pepper. I am not a beginner at frying and I did make a mistake with the first batch. I had the oil too hot and free handed the pouring instead of using a spoon. This resulted in fritters that were too big and got browned on the outside quickly but were still doughy on the inside. Be sure to use a tablespoon when dropping these. They actually expand once they hit the oil, so a tablespoon is the perfect size. My 4 yr old who does not like zucchini is chowing down on her third one as I write this . Super good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magpie81
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Great recipe! For everyone who used dries basil, I HIGHLY recommend using the fresh. I also think it might to nicely to add some garlic, I ended up sprinkling granulated garlic on top, but I might try adding crushed garlic into the mix. It really does take a lot of oil though. I noticed that when the oil got low it turned out more eggy and if the oil wasn't hot enough it ended up soggy and oil-soaked. Frying is tricky business!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very tasty. I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty to feed a family of 4. I added a little more parmesan (but will probably add even more next time)and used dried basil because that's what I had on hand. We dipped them in ranch dressing and/or soy sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These were so deeelicious! I would have loved to add the fresh basil, but had to use dry instead. I followed all other instructions, and the result was so yummy! This recipe makes a ton! You could easily half it for a side dish. I used good size zucchini and the ratios seemed good. I dipped them in some teriyaki sauce, mmm. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very nice recipe. I grate the zucchini then place in a colander then sprinkle with 1t. salt and allow to sit for 15 minutes. Place in a square of cheese cloth and squeeze out excess water, then proceed with the recipe as written *** Be to add the salt called for. What ws used to pull the excess moisture out went down the drain with the juices! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
So good! I cut this down for a small family. I grated 1-1# zucchini and salted it and drained before proceeding with all the cheese and 1/3 of the rest of the ingredients. Never have too much cheese. The mixture was thick (like muffin batter?) and I used 1 large TBL. per fritter in just a little oil in a hot skillet. It made about 12 21/2" round fritters. Very tasty. Will be making these often. UPDATE: I took these to my county fair as a vegetarian appetizer. The recipe was given first place in it's category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States