Old-Fashioned Italian Zucchini Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I loved these! This recipe seemed simpler than other recipes and I had everything on hand. I grated zucchini for zucchini bread. This was the perfect recipe for the extra grated zucchini! One addition I made was to add a green onion stalk to the basil before chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Good, but the zucchini put off a lot of water after I added the egg, flour, and salt. Had to keep adding flour to absorb the excess moisture. Made the fritters a little flimsy, but still tasted good. Nice way to use up extra zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I made these last night for friends, and they were delicious! To get rid of some of the water, I put the shredded zucchini on some paper towels before adding them to the egg mixture. They were still a bit soggy, especially after sitting out for awhile. Popping them in the oven and baking them for a few minutes might give them a nice crunch. I might add some shredded carrots to the batter next time to give them some more color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very tasty. I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty to feed a family of 4. I added a little more parmesan (but will probably add even more next time)and used dried basil because that's what I had on hand. We dipped them in ranch dressing and/or soy sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was good, my family loved them, I thought it was a ilttle eggy, but they enjoyed it so I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These were so deeelicious! I would have loved to add the fresh basil, but had to use dry instead. I followed all other instructions, and the result was so yummy! This recipe makes a ton! You could easily half it for a side dish. I used good size zucchini and the ratios seemed good. I dipped them in some teriyaki sauce, mmm. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Was not thrilled with this recipe. I have tried several that were much better. This recipe came out too soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magpie81
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Great recipe! For everyone who used dries basil, I HIGHLY recommend using the fresh. I also think it might to nicely to add some garlic, I ended up sprinkling granulated garlic on top, but I might try adding crushed garlic into the mix. It really does take a lot of oil though. I noticed that when the oil got low it turned out more eggy and if the oil wasn't hot enough it ended up soggy and oil-soaked. Frying is tricky business!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I adapted a bit. First, I put the shredded and diced zucchini into a bowl and sprinkled the salt on top, left it 5 minutes and then squeezed out the liquid--this prevented the watery problem. Next I substituted corn meal muffin mix for the white flour. Results were thoroughly enjoyed by my husband and my 90 year old Mom who lives with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great recipe! I changed a few things though. First I added 3 small shredded carrots, and ommited the diced zucchini. I squeezed the mixture to drain some of the moisture from it. I added 3 minced garlic cloves, and some crushed red pepper flakes. We ate these dipped in a mixture of Ranch Dressing and Tapatio Hot sauce. Even my oldest who doesnt eat vegetables ate 2 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States