Old-Fashioned Italian Zucchini Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Wow, tasty goodness! Used three zucchini's because that was all I had. Grated, salted it and let it sit about 10 minutes. Then I squeezed about a cup of water out of it. This took out all of the extra moisture and I did not have to pat it with paper towels, which is good because grated zucchini sticks to everything. I used a powdered parmesan replacement, since we don't eat dairy. The black pepper and fresh basil are key in this. Do not make substitutions or leave them out. Dry basil will not give the interest and fresh tasting quality that the fresh gives. I thought it was too much black pepper when I dumped it in, but it was just right. That said, being a vegetarian, I think these would be very good mock crab cakes, if you subbed fresh dill for basil and Old Bay for the salt and pepper. I am not a beginner at frying and I did make a mistake with the first batch. I had the oil too hot and free handed the pouring instead of using a spoon. This resulted in fritters that were too big and got browned on the outside quickly but were still doughy on the inside. Be sure to use a tablespoon when dropping these. They actually expand once they hit the oil, so a tablespoon is the perfect size. My 4 yr old who does not like zucchini is chowing down on her third one as I write this . Super good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were delicious fast and easy! I made them this morning and they were fantastic - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Canedo - GO STEELERS!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was awesome! I did as some said and patted some of the moisture from the shredded zucchini and added some garlic, onion powder and red pepper flakes. I had some leftover homemade spaghetti sauce in the freezer that I warmed and served over these - DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great recipe! I changed a few things though. First I added 3 small shredded carrots, and ommited the diced zucchini. I squeezed the mixture to drain some of the moisture from it. I added 3 minced garlic cloves, and some crushed red pepper flakes. We ate these dipped in a mixture of Ranch Dressing and Tapatio Hot sauce. Even my oldest who doesnt eat vegetables ate 2 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I adapted a bit. First, I put the shredded and diced zucchini into a bowl and sprinkled the salt on top, left it 5 minutes and then squeezed out the liquid--this prevented the watery problem. Next I substituted corn meal muffin mix for the white flour. Results were thoroughly enjoyed by my husband and my 90 year old Mom who lives with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magpie81
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Great recipe! For everyone who used dries basil, I HIGHLY recommend using the fresh. I also think it might to nicely to add some garlic, I ended up sprinkling granulated garlic on top, but I might try adding crushed garlic into the mix. It really does take a lot of oil though. I noticed that when the oil got low it turned out more eggy and if the oil wasn't hot enough it ended up soggy and oil-soaked. Frying is tricky business!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Was not thrilled with this recipe. I have tried several that were much better. This recipe came out too soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These were so deeelicious! I would have loved to add the fresh basil, but had to use dry instead. I followed all other instructions, and the result was so yummy! This recipe makes a ton! You could easily half it for a side dish. I used good size zucchini and the ratios seemed good. I dipped them in some teriyaki sauce, mmm. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was good, my family loved them, I thought it was a ilttle eggy, but they enjoyed it so I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very tasty. I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty to feed a family of 4. I added a little more parmesan (but will probably add even more next time)and used dried basil because that's what I had on hand. We dipped them in ranch dressing and/or soy sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States