Old-Fashioned Italian Zucchini Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very different, and quite good. I followed other reviewers who said use fresh basil and not dried, but they actually could have gone without any basil at all. I guess I'm just not a big basil fan. The only thing I did differently was add onion powder. I'll make these again. Maybe next time the kids will try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
So good! I cut this down for a small family. I grated 1-1# zucchini and salted it and drained before proceeding with all the cheese and 1/3 of the rest of the ingredients. Never have too much cheese. The mixture was thick (like muffin batter?) and I used 1 large TBL. per fritter in just a little oil in a hot skillet. It made about 12 21/2" round fritters. Very tasty. Will be making these often. UPDATE: I took these to my county fair as a vegetarian appetizer. The recipe was given first place in it's category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Really Enjoyed this...added some garlic powder to the mixture. The fresh basil really added some fresh flavor to these and I made sure to squeeze all excess water that I could from the zucchini before I mixed it. I'm looking forward to using up my zucchini bounty with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Excellent...halved the recipe...upped the grated cheese...and I used pecorino romano to about a little more than 1/4c. Also added some garlic powder and onion powder. Delicious....loved the basil in these fritters...fresh is a must...dont skimp and use dried! Family very much enjoyed...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Delicious. I added a little shredded carrot as some other reviewers mentioned, just for color, otherwise made the recipe as is. These fried up crisp and lite in texture. I served it topped with a Romesco sauce, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Growing up we always had Fried Zucchini Sandwiches. This recipe would be so much easier if you sliced your zucchini after peeling the skins off. Dipping it in Flour, THEN dipping into your egg that has the basil, grated cheese, s&p and garlic powder and frying it up. You can also make Zucchini Parm like you make Chicken Parm. Bake this in an oven with sauce and grated/shredded cheese! Several meal variations when you cook it like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These were really good! I cut the recipe down to use only one zucchini, which I grated (did not use any diced) and drained of most of the liquid. I used all of the ingredients listed, just to my taste more, only 1 egg for the one zucchini used and added garlic powder also. I added the flour until I thought it was enough...not too thin and not too thick. These fried up beautifully! LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the fresh basil in these. I would've never have thought to do that, lol. I will definately use this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very nice recipe. I grate the zucchini then place in a colander then sprinkle with 1t. salt and allow to sit for 15 minutes. Place in a square of cheese cloth and squeeze out excess water, then proceed with the recipe as written *** Be to add the salt called for. What ws used to pull the excess moisture out went down the drain with the juices! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I did not care for this, it didnt taste anything like zuccinin atall, it was pretty much empty calories to me. I tried to make it better by changing some things, but it didnt help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe ! I used just two eggs, fresh parmesan and grated parmesan - no basil, but that would have been excellent ! Shallow-fired them in less oil. Thank you for sharing, I will make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States