Old-Fashioned Honey Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Incredible! I HATE pecan pie and I actually loved this recipe! It's a mellow flavor and I loved how the honey tasted with the pecans. I used a premade crust to save some time. I didn't think the honey overpowered it at all! The only thing I changed was letting the honey cool a few minutes before adding the eggs. Other than that, recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlita Bonita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Since I was out of corn syrup I thought I would give this recipe a try. The honey overpowered the taste of the pecans.If you are wanting a traditional Pecan Pie, this is not it. However, if you like super sweet and don't mind the strong taste of honey, you may like it. It was quick and easy to make. I would suggest trying it before presenting it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Oh my! This turned out great! Made just like the recipe said but I made a pretzel crust. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I like honey and I like pecans. I thought the honey overpowered the pecans a bit. Had to make 1 1/2 batches to fill a 9" pie crust. Good pie if you love honey and don't mind not tasting the pecans very strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Tasty version that we can make in a place where corn syrup is not available. Seemed over-sweet to DH, but our Russian friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I really love this pie! The honey flavor isn't too strong and the calorie content in significantly lessened. My main warning is not to follow the directions too closely, adding eggs to boiling hot honey will cook your eggs, egg drop soup style. Let the honey cool a bit first. This pie comes out darker than its corn syrup cousin. Overall, if you like honey's taste, don't be afraid, this is a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Excellent!!! I make this recipe all the time, everyone loves it. I was searching for a pecan pie recipe made with honey due to my diet restrictions. It's soooo easy and it always comes out super sweet and delicious. I think the honey actually brings out and compliments the flavor of the pecans. This is my new favorite pecan pie, and I'm a southern girl, so that says alot!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashelena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
i used this recipe with phyllo sheets instead of pie crust, and used a mini-muffin pan to make mini pecan tartlets. i also added a little ground clove. I had leftover pecans i wanted to use, but was dreading the work, and this recipe made it simple! I also dusted the top of them with powdered sugar. Thank you, Holly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I had a cookbook with this recipe that has since been lost. It is my family's favorite. We would NEVER eat a corn syrup pie after trying this. My recipe was called Kentucky Pecan Pie. It is SO delicious, not that overly sweet taste you get with corn syrup. SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I loved this recipie. I tried it last Thanksgiving when the store was out of karo syrup. It was easy, quick and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States