Old-Fashioned Honey Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I really love this pie! The honey flavor isn't too strong and the calorie content in significantly lessened. My main warning is not to follow the directions too closely, adding eggs to boiling hot honey will cook your eggs, egg drop soup style. Let the honey cool a bit first. This pie comes out darker than its corn syrup cousin. Overall, if you like honey's taste, don't be afraid, this is a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I had a cookbook with this recipe that has since been lost. It is my family's favorite. We would NEVER eat a corn syrup pie after trying this. My recipe was called Kentucky Pecan Pie. It is SO delicious, not that overly sweet taste you get with corn syrup. SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
My co-worker and I both made this pie the same evening and neither one of us liked it. The honey was over powered the pecans. Would not recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Excellent!!! I make this recipe all the time, everyone loves it. I was searching for a pecan pie recipe made with honey due to my diet restrictions. It's soooo easy and it always comes out super sweet and delicious. I think the honey actually brings out and compliments the flavor of the pecans. This is my new favorite pecan pie, and I'm a southern girl, so that says alot!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashelena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I like honey and I like pecans. I thought the honey overpowered the pecans a bit. Had to make 1 1/2 batches to fill a 9" pie crust. Good pie if you love honey and don't mind not tasting the pecans very strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
i used this recipe with phyllo sheets instead of pie crust, and used a mini-muffin pan to make mini pecan tartlets. i also added a little ground clove. I had leftover pecans i wanted to use, but was dreading the work, and this recipe made it simple! I also dusted the top of them with powdered sugar. Thank you, Holly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I loved this recipie. I tried it last Thanksgiving when the store was out of karo syrup. It was easy, quick and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I love this recipe! I made it twice for my Southern Pecan Pie loving Uncle, who never eats desserts anymore due to health concerns, but eats this one! I don't eat sugar, so really don't know what a traditional pecan pie is like, so I can't compare. I cook a lot with honey (my dad is a beekeeper), and I can tell you that the type of honey you use makes a big difference. If you don't want an overpowering honey flavor, then use a light colored mild honey. I use a clover honey which is dark and rich and gives it lots of body. I don't like the store bought clover honey, but I'm guessing this would give it an entirely different taste. I've also used palm sugar (2 cups, since honey is twice as sweet as other sugars), and is much more similar in flavor and texture to a brown sugar (without the high glycemic index.) For those that have dietary restrictions, or prefer a slightly healthier version, this recipe is great! I made it with a gluten free crust so my mom could enjoy it too. It was a hit this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made this pie,but used 2 cups walnuts instead of pecans. Awesome! I made it for Christmas and I am still getting comments on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was good, but it lacked the depth of flavour that I enjoy in pecan pie, it was almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States