Old-Fashioned Honey Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made this into 3 mini pies because my mother in law has my 2 pie pans. I followed the recipe for 11 servings, except for replacing the honey with butter flavor maple syrup. I used the French Pastry Pie Crust from this site & followed that recipe as 9 servings. I had to cook the 3 mini ones for waaay longer than 25 minutes, it was watery when I cut into it & I was really disappointed, I almost rated it off of that but I put it in the oven untill it was "set" for more like 1 hour 25 minutes, even though it made the crust darker than my liking. If I cooked it any longer like I wanted to the crust would have burnt. This pie is a big no no, I dont know what it is that could make it good. I just got done letting it cool down & bluucch. The pecans floated to the top & underneath was a nasty layer of eggs that wernt even sweet. I know I stirred the eggs correctly, Ive mastered that in cooking. What a big waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
turned out great. i was concerned about eggs curdling in the hot honey but no problems. won't replace traditional recipe but very good. adds some variety when making two pecan pies to do one this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was a big hit at Thanksgiving this year. A great alternative to having corn syrup pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I love this recipe! I made it twice for my Southern Pecan Pie loving Uncle, who never eats desserts anymore due to health concerns, but eats this one! I don't eat sugar, so really don't know what a traditional pecan pie is like, so I can't compare. I cook a lot with honey (my dad is a beekeeper), and I can tell you that the type of honey you use makes a big difference. If you don't want an overpowering honey flavor, then use a light colored mild honey. I use a clover honey which is dark and rich and gives it lots of body. I don't like the store bought clover honey, but I'm guessing this would give it an entirely different taste. I've also used palm sugar (2 cups, since honey is twice as sweet as other sugars), and is much more similar in flavor and texture to a brown sugar (without the high glycemic index.) For those that have dietary restrictions, or prefer a slightly healthier version, this recipe is great! I made it with a gluten free crust so my mom could enjoy it too. It was a hit this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Love this recipe. We have local honey producers here so I like to mix different honeys together to get the right flavors or add depth to the flavors. I also use an almond, pecan, walnut, raisen and cranraisen trail mix instead of just pecans. This helps add depth to the flavor of the honey(s).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was good, but it lacked the depth of flavour that I enjoy in pecan pie, it was almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is one of the best pecan pie recipes I've used. Due to the price of honey I usually use half honey and half corn syrup which I believe helps the overpowering honey flavor that the pie can have with 1 cup of honey. Just remember when mixing in the eggs to slowly add some of the syrup to beaten eggs to bring them up to temperature so the eggs don't cook in the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michee Jugovich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This really can go far if you use a honey you particularly like. It is milder than regular pecan pie and mine puffed up nice and thick. Very good and this has sold me on using honey instead of Karo syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeyspur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made this pie,but used 2 cups walnuts instead of pecans. Awesome! I made it for Christmas and I am still getting comments on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I only had about 3/5 of a cup of honey so I substituted corn syrup for the rest and it was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States