Old Fashioned Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I LOVE this recipe... I don't like the candy personally, but my family LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I haven't made this recipe since i was little. I just made it today and My Family really loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
THIS IS PRETTY AND IT TASTE GOOD. I DID USE A WHOLE CUP OF CORN SYRUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This came out great, just made it today. I used peppermint and raspberry flavoring (green and red for Christmas), and I waited for it to harden and used a meat mallet to break it up into pieces. I lined the pans with foil and cooking spray so no mess to clean up and no sticking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Great recipe! My first time making this, I didn't have any flavoring oils, so I used 1 tsp. mint extract. It came out very good, without the in-your-face mintiness that you sometimes get with the store-bought stuff. The second time, I used 1 tsp rootbeer oil (double what the recipe called for), and it turned out a little bland for my taste. Next time I do rootbeer, I will double the amount to 2 tsps. I made other changes to the recipe to fit with the equipment that I have on hand in my kitchen... I used spray oil on a sheet of wax paper laid on a cookie sheet, and have had no issues with sticking (the paper peels right off). Instead of cutting the candy using kitchen shears, i prefer the rustic, jagged pieces left over after smashing the solidified sheet of candy with a blunt end of a knife. Lastly, instead of a candy thermometer, I used a binder clip to hold the probe end of an oven-safe probe thermometer in the saucepan. I was able to set the alarm to go off at 285 F, giving me plenty of time to prep the cookie sheet before the candy hit 300 degrees F. Don't be afraid to improvise! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Wow!!! That is all I can say! I've never made candy before, and I was really stressing because I wanted to make a birthday cake for my son. The idea I had was for something with a window, but I couldn't find an easy recipe. I live in a high altitude area, and saw a comment about not letting it get to the hard-crack stage. I couldn't find it again and so I just went with the soft-crack stage and it turned out wonderful! My kids are loving it, and it made some great windows (I didn't add color). I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very easy to make, and tasted great. I would have added more peppermint, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
ME & MY MOM MAKE THIS CANDY EVERY YEAR MY SON GOES NUTS NOW IF I DONT MAKE IT FOR HIM EVERY YEAR HOWEVER THERE ARE TO THINGS DIFFERENT WE DO #1 WE POUR OURS EITHER ON A MARBLE PIECE OR IN LIKE A FLAT COOKIE SHEET AND BUST IT UP W/A HAMMER AFTER HARDENING (WE MAKE DOUBLE &TRIPLE BATCHES OF ABOUT 15-20 DIFFERNT FLAVORINGS EVERY YEAR AND WE JUST MATCH THE FOOD COLORING TO WHICHEVER FLAVOR WE MAKE ONLY WHEN IT COMES TO FLAVORING IT (EXCEPT FOR THE STONG FLAVORS LIKE CLOVES,CINNOMON,PEPPERMINT)YOU NEED TO USE 2 OF THE TINY BOTTLES OF FLAVORING PER RECIPE TO REALLY MAKE IT GOOD--HOWEVER MAKE STRONGER FLAVORS LAST CUZ U'LL DEFINITLY BE OPENING DOORS AND OR WINDOWS AND RUNNIN FOR THE HILLS IT'S SO STONG(LEARNED FROM EXPERIENCE .....TRUST ME!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rdnkkkgrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I color some green and some red at Xmas. It is a greatly appreciated Xmas gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I brought this to work for a 'treat day' and have spent the whole day blushing from the compliments! I used about a tablespoon of lemon extract and two drops of yellow food coloring, and spread it out on that new Reynolds 'release' foil, then cut it in squares when it was taffy consistency with a pizza cutter, broke them apart when they were cooled and dipped each in powdered sugar before putting them in the storage container. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States