Old Fashioned Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I've been looking for an old fashioned fudge recipe like my mom used to make. The only thing I could ever find was with the marshmallow and stuff. It was good, but not what I wanted. This is great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is recipe my grandmother used, except she preferred evaporated milk. Fudge is smooth and creamy if you don't over-cook it. You can't beat(stir)it too much. The more you stir the creamier the fudge. I add 1 cup of peanut butter with the vanilla. If cooked correctly, THIS IS TRUE FUDGE! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Delicious! Best I have ever made. Cooked absolutely perfect. Poor quickly from boiler to pan though - thickens fast! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I liked this recipe. Fudge is easy to 'fudge' but I got this to turn out great, just like when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This is a recipe my family made in the 1950's and 60's. It has great texture, much better than more modern fudge recipes, but is less predictable. Let the mixture cool slowly in the pan without stirring until you can let your hand rest comfortably on the bottom of the pan for 10-15 seconds, then proceed with beating the mixture as recommended. Have your pan prepped and ready to pour-the change from glossy to non-glossy is subtle; it may take a few tries to get the timing perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Just like great granma use to make...Thank you SOOOO Much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Geddings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Emerson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Thank you! For the first time ever I have made fudge and don't need a spoon to eat it. Plus it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is great! I live in a place where chocolate bars and chocolate chips are very expensive, I can only afford to buy cocoa.. And recipes with cocoa and without marshmallow are hard to find! This is made from normal ingredients all on hand.. I don't have a candy thermometer, so I did the ice-water testing method, no problems, it came out great the first time. I will make this whenever I crave fudge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This recipe is a definite winner. I'm surprised at the past bad reviews. I followed the recipe exactly (except that I added 1/2 cup of broken walnuts with the vanilla), and it came out great. I think this fudge recipe is much better than the ones that call for marshmallows. I couldn't find my old recipe for fudge, so I tried this one since it's very similar, and I think this recipe is even better than mine. I like the addition of corn syrup. I think it gives the fudge a smoother texture. My family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is the same as my mothers except my mom uses evaporated milk. The trick is to stir, stir, stir, until glossy and almost unstirable. Don't over cook. As soon as you take it off the stove put it in the sink with about 2-3 inches of water. You will need a heavy duty pan and spoon, I have brok many. Also, don't let even 1 drop of water go into the fudge or it will ruin it. I only eat this type of fudge it has been passed down many years through our family. Marshmallow fudge is not fudge! This recipe may take many times of making before you perfect it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States