Old Fashioned Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Absolutely awful. A waste of effort and ingredients. I used a thermometer and followed recipe exactly. This mess was headed towards a rock candy rather than fudge. Disgusting mess and I know how to make fudge. Definitely not recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I liked this recipe. Fudge is easy to 'fudge' but I got this to turn out great, just like when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I make a variation of this using canned milk, instead of corn syrup and whole milk and only 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I think its much better than the marshmellow creme type. The trick is it has to be taken off at the correct temp (I use the soft ball method in some water) partially fill the sink with cold water and place the pan in the sink add vanilla and butter and beat (its an arm workout)till glossy. Immediately put into pan lined with wax paper. It will turn like rock if you beat it too long. Also this doesn't harden in moist weather. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Delicious! Best I have ever made. Cooked absolutely perfect. Poor quickly from boiler to pan though - thickens fast! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I've been looking for an old fashioned fudge recipe like my mom used to make. The only thing I could ever find was with the marshmallow and stuff. It was good, but not what I wanted. This is great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I wish i would have read reviews and fudge tips before making this one. it turned out like candy, brittle.I was not happy, espec 4 the holidays. i also found this tip here in "flawless fudge" tips. now if i would have read it sooner, maybe it would have turned out better. =================== Once the fudge reaches soft-ball stage 240 degrees F (115 degrees C), DO NOT stir it or even shake the pan until it has cooled to about 110 degrees F (43 degrees C).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Not even worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong. I've made fudge before and I tried this recipe twice (with a thermometer) and both times the fudge scorched on the bottom of my pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This is a recipe my family made in the 1950's and 60's. It has great texture, much better than more modern fudge recipes, but is less predictable. Let the mixture cool slowly in the pan without stirring until you can let your hand rest comfortably on the bottom of the pan for 10-15 seconds, then proceed with beating the mixture as recommended. Have your pan prepped and ready to pour-the change from glossy to non-glossy is subtle; it may take a few tries to get the timing perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is recipe my grandmother used, except she preferred evaporated milk. Fudge is smooth and creamy if you don't over-cook it. You can't beat(stir)it too much. The more you stir the creamier the fudge. I add 1 cup of peanut butter with the vanilla. If cooked correctly, THIS IS TRUE FUDGE! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States