Old Fashioned Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Definitely prefer with peppermint extract. Skim milk works fine. Also have used stand mixer twice with excellent results- after removing mixture from heat, pour directly into mixer bowl. Top with margarine (I use 1 tbsp.) and extract. Let cool a bit, protected from disturbance and particles (30 min. seems to work fine), and then mix with dough hook on low/med setting until mixture is noticeably thicker and loses glossiness-meaning the part the spoon or hook has just touched is lighter and less glossy then the rest (usually takes 10-15 min.). Easy! Be sure to have buttered pan (a loaf pan is perfect for this amount) and spatula ready, as soon as you stop the mixer the candy will harden very quickly! Also, when I was measuring the temp., 225 was about right, but you'll be able to judge whether it's cooked long enough just by its appearance after you've made this a few times- for me this cooks for about 10-15 min. just below the medium setting on my stove, with just a few stirs with a whisk to keep it from burning on the bottom. As long as you follow a few basic rules, this takes very little effort. The waiting is the hard part! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Pretty good fudge. The taste was great, but it came out a bit hard and grainy, I think because I let it cool a bit too much before pouring it into the 9x9 pan as it got really hard on me before I had it totally poured. So, I ended up scraping huge lumps of fudge off of the spoon into the pan, and then pressing it down with my hand... not very classy but it worked. Anyway, I'll be keeping this recipe and trying it again, next time not letting it cool quite so much before getting it into the pan. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made this and a marshmallow version to compare. This one has a better flavor and texture. I used evaporated milk and doubled the amounts of the ingredients - otherwise the pieces will be very thin. Here's why I couldn't give it 5 stars: as directed I stirred until it lost the gloss and it VERY quickly solidified in the saucepan. To salvage, I chipped it out of there and put it in a double boiler, adding a little more evaporated milk and stirring until it was able to be poured into the baking dish. That worked, but next time I'll pour as soon as it starts to lose the gloss. Requires a lot of hard stirring, so be ready for an arm workout. Have an extra spoon on hand in case it breaks. Worth it? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was fabulous and not as hard as I expected it to be. Read the helpful hints of other reviewers and followed the directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kokoskorner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is the same as my mothers except my mom uses evaporated milk. The trick is to stir, stir, stir, until glossy and almost unstirable. Don't over cook. As soon as you take it off the stove put it in the sink with about 2-3 inches of water. You will need a heavy duty pan and spoon, I have brok many. Also, don't let even 1 drop of water go into the fudge or it will ruin it. I only eat this type of fudge it has been passed down many years through our family. Marshmallow fudge is not fudge! This recipe may take many times of making before you perfect it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This recipe is a definite winner. I'm surprised at the past bad reviews. I followed the recipe exactly (except that I added 1/2 cup of broken walnuts with the vanilla), and it came out great. I think this fudge recipe is much better than the ones that call for marshmallows. I couldn't find my old recipe for fudge, so I tried this one since it's very similar, and I think this recipe is even better than mine. I like the addition of corn syrup. I think it gives the fudge a smoother texture. My family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
i didn't have milk so i used water, but it still came out well. I love the grainy feel of old fashioned fudge, the microwaved, and powdered sugar versions just aren't the same.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I added about a 1/2 cup of coconut to this right after I pulled it off the heat. YUM! :) I also coated the pan in butter and sugar before I poured in the fudge, it made the outside sweeter and added to the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is great! I live in a place where chocolate bars and chocolate chips are very expensive, I can only afford to buy cocoa.. And recipes with cocoa and without marshmallow are hard to find! This is made from normal ingredients all on hand.. I don't have a candy thermometer, so I did the ice-water testing method, no problems, it came out great the first time. I will make this whenever I crave fudge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I was making fudge for the holidays, and tried this recipe twice. Both times, the fudges appearance was awful. It didnt cut well, and looked very dried out immediately. I pride myself in making delicious Christmas cookies and candies, and this just didnt meet with my expectations. It tasted ok, not good or great just ok. Not good enough in my opinion to serve to others. Very Disappointed! Will efintely not try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States