Old Fashioned Fudge Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
The reviews on this recipe certainly went from one extreme to the other, so I decided to try them for myself. They're definitely not fudgy. More like a brownie. I followed the recipe as written, but I added a couple of handfuls of chocolate chips. Was looking for something to sandwich homemade ice cream in between. They worked great for that. They are a little dry on their own. You do need to flatten them because they do not flatten on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
These are the most amazing cookies ever! They are incredibly tender and have a wonderful chocolate flavor. I am a true chocoholic and didn't really believe a chocolate cookie without chocolate chips could be so good but boy was I wrong! I used a small cookie scoop, covered the cookie sheet with the cookie balls and then went back and lightly flattened each one with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. I also took some of them to work and my coworkers thought they were awesome, too! TRY THEM NOW!!!!!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Very nice chocolate flavor, not exactly fudgy, but certainly chewy and yummy. Make sure you watch these, though: I baked them 6 minutes and a couple of them still burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
These cookies didn't taste like fudge, but BOY ARE THEY GOOD! I made them for a big group because they made about 50 cookies, and they were gone that same day. Really chocolatey, and they have that crunchy-soft feel. I dipped them in sugar before baking...they didn't spread all that much so they're kind of small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Not bad! These cookies turned out soft and puffy. I thought they were a little plain so next time I'll add some chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Scrumptious! What deep chocolate flavor! The batter came together so nice! My KitchenAid mixer and this cookie dough are meant for one another! A definite recipe favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
i followed this exact but they took me 15 minutes to cook and some wernt cooked underneath? they did taste yummy but defo needed more chocolate. i will be cooking again though for sure - practise makes perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Incredibly easy to make. Fantasitic recipe. Substituted the bar chocolate with melted dark chocolate chips then cut the white sugar down to 3/4 cup. My nephew and his friends couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Yummy!!!! This was so easy to make . And it taste just like the chocolate sugar cookies my Granny used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The cookies weren't what I expected, but they were really good, there even better with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States