Old-Fashioned Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by addltn
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great fudge! I only had 2 unsweetened chocolate squares, so I used cocoa powder to make up for it. The flavor is rich and it is nice and soft, without being to sticky or rock hard. I used a whisk to blend the chocolate into the liquid, as brown flakes from the chocolate squares wouldn't dissolve on their own. I kept it in the fridge after it cooled down and it's still moist 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nubbs180
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this recipe twice in the last month (my first attempts at fudge), the second time I doubled it. It was fantastic! The flavor is excellent, and the temperatures worked just fine. I pressed walnut bits into the top of one batch, candy cane bits into the top of the another, and left the last batch plain. All were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I think 238 is too high I boiled it for about 3 minutes and checked the old fashioned way since my mom was there to help the thermometer kept slipping off and I think I got a reading of 225-230? The fudge came out perfect like my mom remembers my gramma making. thank you this was my Christmas gift to her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
OK, sounds like someone else had the exact same experience as I, on the same exact day!! As I (we)left it to cool, it got so hard in the saucepan, I couldn't do anything to get it out. I had checked my themometer for accuracy before starting (twice!) and actually followed the directions. I have no idea what happened. Unlike the other reviewer, what I could chip away and taste, was DELICIOUS, which made it even more disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I hate to put stars on this because I'm sure it's my fault. I cooked it to soft ball stage like another reviewer said, then after I put in the chocolate and brought it up to temperature I set it next to the stove to cool with my candy thermometer in it. After it cooled to about 150 degrees it was so hard I couldn't even chip it out of the pan! And the little chunck I got off was terrible! What did I do wrong?! HEEEEEELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
my father in law loves fudge and i made this for christmas for him... he loved it! and another friend said it was just like her moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Page

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The first time I made this I forgot to cover the pan and it came out great. The second time I did cover the pan and must've cooked it past the soft ball stage because it ended up dry and I had to throw it away. I found the reviews for this and the other old fashioned recipe helpful concerning avoiding sugar crystals and when to stir and not to stir. Also I tested for "soft ball" stage the old-fashioned way; it doesn't really form a ball by itself - you have to form it into a ball in the water, but you can easily flatten it when you remove it from the water. After this I ran out of unsweetened chocolate so I tried the other old-fashioned fudge recipe (the one using cocoa powder) and it took forever. I will make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
The ONLY problem with this recipe is that it makes far too small a batch of fudge! The flavor is absolutely great. There were a couple of tips from previous reviewers that are worthwhile for any fudge recipe from scratch: heat it to boiling slowly, over medium or med-low heat; let it cool all the way before you begin beating it; wipe down sides before you beat it. I would add to these suggestions - make sure you don't cook it past the soft-ball stage or 234 degrees (I found boiling for 5 minutes was just a tad too long) and after it's cooled don't beat it *too* long - you can go past that perfect fudgey texture to something grainier if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This recipe is really good. Make sure that when you let it cool you let it go all the way to 110 degrees F. Otherwise it will be grainy. Also, use a damp pastry brush or damp towel to wipe the sides down. If you pour the fudge out with the sides still all goopy it will not be as smoothe as it could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
It took me 3 times to get this recipe right once I learned to heat up the fudge very slowly it worked perfect everybody loved this fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States