Old-Fashioned Frozen Vanilla Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
When cooking the custard base, turn heat on LOW and stir continiously until thickened/eggs completely cooked. The custard base should be smooth. I also added a couple of tablespoons of heavy cream with the half and half, and after it was all put together it made it the ice cream softer. I also used a lot more vanilla than called for, and the second batch I used like 2 or 3 tablespoons of banana extract instead of vanilla and that also turned out really good. And I didnt put in the custard base in the freezer, I just waited until it was cooled down on the store. I didnt feel that 2/3c of sugar was too much, but then again I have a sweet tooth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is a great tasting treat. My mom loved it. I blended up pineapple, banana, and mandrin oranges and added it with the cream and vanilla. It was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bontoys
Home Town: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I modified this recipe for my Cuisinart ice cream freezer, and it turned out great. Just cook first 3 ingredients as instructed. Strain through a fine mesh strainer to remove any cooked egg into a small bowl. Set this small bowl into a larger bowl with crushed ice, let stand to cool. Whip the cream, salt and vanilla until slightly thickened. Fold the whipped cream into the egg mixture and process in the freezer per manufacturer's instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I dont understand why previous reviews said it was too sweet. Mine was salty, I even checked to make sure I put in the right amount, and I did. I had to save it with more sugar and whipping cream. It was a waste of my whole night. At least it tastes good now so not a total loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was such good "ice cream". I used Hershey's chocolate syrup to make chocolate custard, added crushed Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookies, then put the chilled custard and whipped cream in my Cuisinart ice cream maker. What a wonderful, cool treat on a hot Texas day. My daughter didn't like the cookie crunch (I did!) so next time I'm going to try cooking down the cookies into the custard. It takes a little prep time but it's well worth it. This is the best base "ice cream" recipe I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I adapted this by using vanilla coconut milk to make it dairy-free. This has gone a long way to satisfy my pregnancy ice-cream cravings, it is so much richer than soy or rice ice cream. I made a double batch, just used the coconut milk for both steps, replacing the half and half and cream. I would love to try this in an ice cream maker, I made it the way the recipe said, using a pan in the freezer. The best, however, was after eating the first half of the batch the original way, I used the second half to make strawberry frozen custard. I pureed probably 1-1 1/2 cups strawberries, and added in the rest of the custard (1 batch, slightly thawed). I processed it until it was ultra smooth and the consistency of a thick milkshake, then put it back in the freezer. I loved the consistency and flavor...I will probably process each batch this way after freezing from now on, whether adding fruit or not. It just made it so much smoother and more of an ice cream consistency. I am sure if I would invest in an ice cream maker, this step could be eliminated, but until then it is worth the extra step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbiana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Delicious!! I used this recipe in my ice cream maker.. After cooling the mixture I whisked in the heavy cream just until blended together, then I added the vanilla and salt and poured the entire mixture into the ice cream maker until thicker. Finally I put in the freezer to harden overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutterfly Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
If you love Coldstone's Sweet Cream ice cream, then you will love this. I doubled the recipe, but used 1 cup cream, 1 cup half & half and 2 cups whole milk so that it wasn't too rich. I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup as other reviewers have suggested, and only used 1 tsp vanilla because I like the cream flavor. Next time I will omit the vanilla entirely and it will probably taste just like I like it. If you don't like cream flavor, just add another teaspoon vanilla. It was a great smooth consistency without being too thick using half milk the way I made it. It would make a wonderful vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was the most delicious recipe I have ever made for frozen vanilla custard! We served it over brownies with shaved chocolate on top, elegant and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Margaretville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made a low fat version because I didn't have any regular half n half nor whipping cream in the house. I also made as a double recipe while making the custard. My changes included: Equal mix FF half n half/ skim milk( 2c. if doubling) FF whipped topping (4c. if doubling) 1/4 less sugar than recipe specifies 1/2 vanilla bean slit in half to free the seeds I also doubled the recipe when I made it. It was fantastic!! The consistency and texture were just like what we order at Milwaukee Frozen Custard Store. Yummy!! Nice knowing it tasted way more sinful than it really was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara  Silva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States