Old Fashioned Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
it was good but hard to keep together i added alitttle more water.. rolled it out on floured board but it didnt make 2 crust pie.. it was more like 1 single crust size. but came out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by layla13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was also my mother's recipe passed down from her grandmother. She always rolled out her dough between waxed paper to prevent cracking. It's a tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlhadley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
The crust was very difficult to keep together so I ended up having to form it in the pie plate. I also added an extra tablespoon of water. Over all it was very good and worked very well for my pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This a light, flaky pie crust. It is now my favorite! I have never been able to make a decent oil pie crust, and I'm 57 and pies are one of the of my favorite dishes. This is now Number 1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a perfect crust!!! My son has food allergies...I was looking for a recipe that uses canola oil...With this recipe, I am able to make homemade fruit and cream, chicken and turkey pot pies, ect...Flaky crust every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I had to make another. It was a terrible crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
An easy to make, unobtrusive pie crust, and one of the few ones that calls for vegetable oil instead of shortening - the substitution made no noticeable difference to me. Rolling out the dough between sheets of wax paper will make the process much easier. I used this with a berry pie, and added a few tablespoons of sugar to the dough recipe, which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
the only thing I would add is to roll it out between wax paper. Makes it so much easyer to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Thank you for this recipe. I in the past made whole wheat pie crusts for quiche and I couldn't find one that; didn't use shortening, didn't use margarine and didn't use additional gluten. So I just changed the flour and wallah. Most pie crust recipes don't go well with quiche, IMO. For those that state it isn't easy to roll out, I always roll it into a ball, press and shape it right in the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I followed the recommendation to roll this out between waxed paper. I usually have a hard time rolling out piecrust but this worked perfectly. This crust was crunchy and flaky and just so delicious my husband and I both loved it. It was the best part of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States