Old Fashioned Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Substitute the regular milk for Condensed Milk, and this recipe will come out deliciously creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This recipe was pretty good but it was missing a key ingredient for sure: cinnamon! I also didn't use the butter and added a little more sugar. This is a wonderful breakfast especially around the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
OMG this was so good. I used half and half and put in cranberries because I didn't have raisins. So yummy. Will definitely add this to my day to day recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was delicious! No more Kozy Shack for my hubby's lunch...here's my few modifications...1 and 3/4 cup cold cooked Jasmine rice and I kept everything else the same. One thing I did that may help you..I mixed together the remaining 1/2 cup milk, the sugar and the egg together in a pourable mixing bowl. When the timing was right, I stirred the pudding with my right hand while slowly pouring the egg/milk/sugar mixture into the pudding with my left hand. I had no trouble with cooked egg pieces. Also, it only took about 10 minutes for the rice to get thick - don't cook it too long or it won't be creamy. I grated fresh nutmeg and cinnamon on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I have a more creamy less rice pudding. Cooked it slower and stirred constantly adding milk until it reached a thick, creamy consistency. Rice being a grain gets its best flavor from salt. I add a little at a time throughout the cooking until it is no longer bland as one cook mentioned. Sweet and salt is the best. No matter how much milk you add it can be cooked down to give you a very creamy product. Make sure you temper the egg by adding a bit of the hot mixture in the beaten egg until it comes closer to the hot pudding and whisk in a little at a time. Done this way, you will not end up with soup, but will spend more time cooking. Be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I just made this, & the way I made it it came out great. Many of the reviewers commented that theirs came out on the runny side, so bearing that in mind I just used 1 C milk, & I had 2 2/3 cups of rice to start out w/. I didn't alter the other ingredients, just the milk & in ratio to the amount of rice I had to use. I was very pleased with the subsequent results, it tastes just like my regular rice pudding recipe, which is concocted over a double boiler. Will definitely make this again when I have leftover rice, which is actually pretty often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady3kgt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Super easy, and quite good. I added cinnamon, omitted rasins and rather than vanilla extract, I split and scraped a half vanilla bean into the mixture. I cooked it. I did not use milk and sugar, rather, I used sweetened condensed. Substituted half and half for the milk to be beaten with the egg. Oh, and i guess i forgot to put salt! I guess I didn't really follow this recipe! I just used it as more of a guideline! How can one go wrong with all these carbs and sugar? It tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
First attempt at rice pudding......LOVE this recipe! I added cinnamon and deleted the raisins. Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is tasty for a quick rice pudding. I couldn't get mine to thicken up very well so I sprinkled in some instant vanilla pudding. Without it the pudding was very soupy. Good flavor. Sprinkled with cinnamon and topped with whipped cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, but it is more like soup than pudding. A sad waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States