Old Fashioned Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I'm a seasoned cook but not so much with desserts. This was my first time making rice pudding. Followed the recipe exactly but subbed dried cranberries for the raisins. It was delicious and everything I had hoped it'd be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Very good - It reminds me of my mom's rice pudding - she could never give me her exact recipe. It does seem to be missing something - could be creamier? Yet - I've made this several times and am happy with how it turns out. Be careful when adding egg to the hot rice mixture -you need to temper the egg by adding a little bit of the hot liquid to the egg (and milk and sugar) and stir - and add more hot rice mixture and stir then add egg mixture to the rest of the rice and mix. This gently heats up the egg so you don't end up with scrambled egg in your rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My husband is a lover of rice pudding and this is his favourite recipe the only thing is ad cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Green-Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Awesome taste and good use for leftover rice ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Awesome pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This came out delicious. I made a double recipe since the way my son loves homemade desserts, 4 servings would be gone too soon. It didn't come out runny, just nice and moist. I cooked it long enough to thicken it up, also used whole milk. I did add some cinnamon and nutmeg, this is a wonderful dessert that is not too sweet. As with most things, I know it will thicken up more once you refrigerate the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The recipe is a great starter and you can add whatever you like. I added 1 c coconut milk and 1 c whole milk with 2 c cooked rice. I did not use the butter but did add cinnamon. Everyone loves it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this recipe just now and my husband ate it while it was still warm. I doubled the recipe and forgot to add in the last 1 cup of milk(1 cup since it was doubled). I also used equal parts condensed milk and water instead of regular milk. I omitted the raisins and added cinnamon. It was a hit! This is going into my recipe box. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Didn't add the butter and used yellow sugar instead if white, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Battle Crow

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
First time making rice pudding but everyone loved it. Lots of changes to it but thankful for the instructions on the procedure. I used more eggs (we have chickens and to many eggs) brown sugar instead of white, nutmeg, cinnamon, clove, ginger (tiny bit), more vanilla, and almond extract, raisins and craisins, and a bit of tapioca just to see. It came out great I've now made it 2x first time I tripled it 2nd time 5x we'll see how it freezes for lunches. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavn4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States